Skip to main content

"That's News to Me!" -- How KSL's Online Newspapers Can Improve Your SAGES Paper: Home

Research Guide tied to Personal Librarian Event held at KSL on March 19th, 2015.

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspapers and SAGES Papers

Are Newspaper Articles Appropriate for SAGES Papers?

SAGES papers, either for First Seminars or University Seminars, often require sources which are verified as scholarly or peer-reviewed. Newspapers are definitely neither scholarly nor peer-reviewed, but they are often barometers of public policy debates, trends in popular culture, trackers of emerging events, and for any historical topic, a primary source.


Coverage and Access:

The Kelvin Smith Library subscribes to a variety of online news sources which cover American sources, international sources, and sources current and going back in time to the nineteenth century. You have access to these sources on campus via CaseWireless, and off campus (or using CaseGuest) via VPN.

Search Strategies:

There are two basic approaches to searching for news articles in online soures: Summon, which searches across all resources that KSL provides for you, and the separate search engines which are part of each newspaper database. Searching via Summon has advantages in that it searches across all the newspaper databases, as well as searching simultaneously for related books and journal articles. Searching within each newspaper database provides you with many more pre-search and post-search filters and limiters, allowing you to retrieve more relevant results for a given search.

Searching Summon for Newspaper Articles: go to library.case.edu → Summon is in the upper right-hand corner → enter and execute your search → set Content Type to Newspaper Articles → use Publication Date and Subject Terms to give you a smaller results set to browse through. Be sure to put interesting articles in your save folder (by clicking on the folder icon at the far right of the citation.

Searching Individual Newspaper Databases: See the tabs above which describe content and searching strategies for each database.

Profile

William Claspy's picture
William Claspy
Contact:
Kelvin Smith Library, 201-E
11055 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44106
USA
1-216-368-3595

Research Tools