Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
1000 fully searchable printed works containing many of the most significant writings by and about African-Americans from the beginning of Jim Crow to post WWI, 1883-1922.
Trial
1400 fully searchable printed works representing many of the most significant writings by and about African Americans from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow, 1865-1833.
New
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index, was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 474,000 records, the APIA is an invaluable companion to the Alternative Press Index, which is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.
New
American Book Prices Current is a record of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps and broadsides sold at auction.
New
Encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century.
New
Includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different archival institutions are represented. Helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
New
Provides access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
New
Collecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction from 1903 to 1982.
New
BrowZine allows researchers to browse, read, and follow scholarly journals licensed and paid for by the Case Libraries as well as Open Access journals.
New
BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
New
Cleveland Leader--Place of Publication: Cleveland, Ohio. Historical newspaper covering the years 1854-1913
New
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
New
Dyabola is a suite of databases. Some databases provide citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. Other databases provide access to 21,200 images of objects and monuments from antiquity as well as documents related to them.
New
InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.
New
This collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTs, anarchists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines. When completed, the Collection will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 1,000,000 pages. Registered users may save links to images and save searches. The link to sign up for an account may be found at the top of the Independent Voices starting page.
New
Streaming video service, featuring many of the educational and documentary films faculty use frequently in classes. It has a wealth of content and many subjects of interest to CWRU programs. Faculty can embed films into their Canvas courses, show them in class, watch them at home, and create playlists of clips. Kanopy's catalog is the most unique of its kind, with many exclusively available collections. Student groups and others on campus can show these movies for events as long as no admission fee is charged.
New
The KKK Newspapers collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
New
L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
New
Washington, D.C. based publication dedicated to expanding the reach of news coverage and analysis produced by Latin American media.
Trial
Spanning the 20th century and beyond, Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015 facilitates research into Marxism and Socialism as alternative visions of organizing society. These newspapers represent the voice of Communism, Socialism, and Marxism in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as: early 20th-century labor conditions, the working class, the post-WW II rise of McCarthyism, unionism, the Civil Rights Movement, and Nazi crimes against humanity.
New
The online version of the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series which aims to provide translations of key social and political sources.
New
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Registration is not required for campus and VPN access but in order to take full advantage of personalized features you must create a profile.
New
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry.

Creating an account is not required to gain access. Create an account to save searches, bookmark content of interest, and set up email alerts when new content is added on topics of interest.
New
The Open Library of Humanities publishes journals across the humanities from classics, theology and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory and sociology.
New
***NOTE: In order to access the contents of this database you must create an account. First, click the database name above (PrivCo), then click the "Click Here to Sign Up" button and follow directions for creating an account. PrivCo allows users to search for privately-held companies across a global, cross-sector platform. Users can identify key metrics like revenues, employees, funding, and deals through a single interface.
New
A leading voice of the African American community, the newspaper provides over six decades of historic coverage.
New
Indexes articles from popular magazines and includes full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
New
RefWorks is an online citation management tool that you can use to store citations in your own personal database and import citations from other online databases. Use it to automatically generate bibliographies in various formats, e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago. See support guide at: http://researchguides.case.edu/refworks
New
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research provides access to archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys.
New
An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Trial
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. It is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
New
SAGE Stats is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing you to easily find, compare, visualize, and export.
New
Online library drawn from books, reports, case collections and journals, published by Greenleaf and others, focused on sustainability and social responsibility.
New
Covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).The database contains all content that is also available in print.
New
U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series—or data measures over time about people, places, and policies—across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a typical political science curriculum. The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, is provided for every data series.
New
This archive gives researchers access to primary source documents covering landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1940, while exploring the technological progress – in everything from entertainment to politics – that shaped contemporary outlooks and reflected national identities.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...