Academic Video Online includes streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.
Documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
The collection includes 702 reference e-books or 2.2 million full-text entries, that covers across disciplines. Mind Maps visually show relationships between topics. Includes Topic Pages that offer an easy starting point and pathways for further research.
Dyabola is a suite of databases. Some databases provide citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. Other databases provide access to 21,200 images of objects and monuments from antiquity as well as documents related to them.
Offers access to a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947
This collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTs, anarchists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines. When completed, the Collection will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 1,000,000 pages. Registered users may save links to images and save searches. The link to sign up for an account may be found at the top of the Independent Voices starting page.
Contains over 400 full-text titles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. This database includes 123 full-text journals & magazines, including 66 that are unavailable from Academic Search™ . Jewish Studies Source also offers extensive full-text backfiles. In addition, Jewish Studies Source contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.
Streaming video service, featuring many of the educational and documentary films faculty use frequently in classes. It has a wealth of content and many subjects of interest to CWRU programs. Faculty can embed films into their Canvas courses, show them in class, watch them at home, and create playlists of clips. Kanopy's catalog is the most unique of its kind, with many exclusively available collections. Student groups and others on campus can show these movies for events as long as no admission fee is charged.
The KKK Newspapers collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Spanning the 20th century and beyond, Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015 facilitates research into Marxism and Socialism as alternative visions of organizing society. These newspapers represent the voice of Communism, Socialism, and Marxism in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as: early 20th-century labor conditions, the working class, the post-WW II rise of McCarthyism, unionism, the Civil Rights Movement, and Nazi crimes against humanity.
Mastering Research @KSL
The self-paced learning modules in this guide will introduce the core resources, strategies, and techniques for finding and using the most appropriate information for your research or project.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Registration is not required for campus and VPN access but in order to take full advantage of personalized features you must create a profile.
Contains virtually every play published during 1820-1900, more than 4,700 in total, and hundreds of prompt books and manuscripts—annotated copies that help reveal the changing intentions of authors and the artistic views of directors. The wide-ranging materials will shed light on areas of study including daily life in the United States; politics, both local and national; culture in all of its forms; and the shifting and evolving tastes of Americans from across the country. Subjects covered by these works include women’s movements, temperance, street life, westward expansion, slavery and abolition, immigration, wars and more.
The collections shared by members of the Ohio Digital Network represent stories that are both unique to Ohioans and part of our shared national story. Materials such as the Fishes of the Great Lakes poster, wartime propaganda posters and oral histories about the May 4, 1970 Kent State shooting shed light on turning point moments in twentieth century history. Collections such as Kenyon College’s Latino-American experiences in rural Knox County and Ohio’s LGBT communities from the Ohio History Connection, represent the lives, work, and relationships of local Ohioans, and ensure that the stories, voices, and experiences of these communities are captured as part of our national heritage. Ohio Digital Network also brings unique materials for gaming (old school, that is) and ornithology enthusiasts too—the Cleveland Public Library’s collection on the history of chess and checkers and John James Audubon’s beautiful bird illustrations from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County are not to be missed.
The Open Library of Humanities publishes journals across the humanities from classics, theology and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory and sociology.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Practical Action Publishing challenges poverty through the global distribution of knowledge and technologies. Our policy, practice and research publications aim to stimulate discussion, strengthen peoples’ capabilities and promote sustainable change. Our authors include researchers who aim to influence practice, as well as practitioners whose insights can inform research.
***NOTE: In order to access the contents of this database you must create an account. First, click the database name above (PrivCo), then click the "Click Here to Sign Up" button and follow directions for creating an account. PrivCo allows users to search for privately-held companies across a global, cross-sector platform. Users can identify key metrics like revenues, employees, funding, and deals through a single interface.
Indexes articles from popular magazines and includes full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. This bank of topical, engaging practice datasets, indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves. The decisions researchers make when analyzing data can seem like a black box for students—through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made, helping them to become confident researchers.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Stimulate class discussions by assigning videos for pre-class viewing, or use a clip in class to provide an alternative viewpoint. Videos can also be embedded into course management systems for exam preparation. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
Online synthetic methodology tool for the most reliable chemical transformations available! SOS is the ONLY resource providing full-text reviews of organic and organometallic transformations as well as experimental procedures.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
This resource offers primary source material brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London, and originally published by the Air Ministry, League of Mercy and War Fund, Purple Cross Service, Russian Relief Fund and many other organizations. The collection contains charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings and more and is fully searchable.
Collating material from archives around the world, this resource offers a unique insight into the phenomenon of international expositions by presenting official records, monographs, personal accounts and ephemera for more than 200 fairs together for the first time.