Research Guides: Religious Studies: Reference Shelf

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 134 views this year

Online Catalog Searching for Reference Collections

University-level libraries offer a wide variety of topical and subject specific reference collections. Many of the entries for terminology, key concepts and topics, people, ...etc. in these works include multi-page essays and bibliographies. Make sure to take full advantage of these collections, both in print and online.

Types of reference works include:

subject handbooks
subject guides
topical encyclopedias
biographical dictionaries
directories (for people and associations)
historical atlases and almanacs
statistical compendium
subject bibliographies

Use the names of reference types in keyword searches to find the sections of Case Libraries reference collection that address your topic.

Online catalog keyword search example = (“encyclopedia/dictionary/handbook”) + (research topic keywords)

If the reference source is not available electronically, make sure to note the location of the print reference source in the catalog entry.

Comprehensive Electronic Reference Resources

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebooks covering all subjects available through OhioLINK.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Digital encyclopedias that expand research on foundational topics, all written, peer-reviewed and continuously updated by leading scholars. Subscription includes access to the Oxford Classical Dictionary and Oxford Research Encyclopedias in the following subjects: American History, Social Work, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Climate Science, International Studies, Politics, Literature, Linguistics, Latin American History, Communication, Religion, and Environmental Science.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Each Handbook in this collection offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Individual articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.

Religious Landscape Study - Pew Research Center
"Explore religious groups in the U.S. by tradition, family and denomination" ~ from the Pew website

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Core encyclopedias and reference sources for authoritative information on African American history, biography, art, literature and culture, published by Oxford University Press.