Macromolecular Science & Engineering

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject, including:Rubber elasticityViscoelasticityAnisotropic mechanical behaviourYield and fractureAlso discusses the molecular and structural interpretations of the mechanical behaviour of solid polymers, emphasising the physical approach. Following on from the highly successful Mechanical Properties of Solid Polymers, 2nd edition, it introduces the subject at a less specialised level and comes complete with worked examples, mathematical appendices, extensive references and comprehensive index.

How do engineering materials deform when bearing mechanical loads? To answer this crucial question, the book bridges the gap between continuum mechanics and materials science. The different kinds of material deformation are explained in detail. The book also discusses the physical processes occurring during the deformation of all classes of engineering materials and shows how these materials can be strengthened to meet the design requirements. It provides the knowledge needed in selecting the appropriate engineering material for a certain design problem. This book is both a valuable textbook and a useful reference for graduate students and practising engineers.

This volume provides a fully cross-referenced and concisely presented overview of the most important aspects of the mechanical properties of polymers. Short articles provide an invaluable quick reference guide for the busy professional as well as an excellent resource for postgraduate and undergraduate students. Coverage includes both background theory and test methods as well as comprehensive summaries of the somewhat neglected but highly important areas of adiabatic shear, high rate behavior, anelastic deformation, friction and wear, computer modeling, and structure-property relationships. Written by experienced scientists, each short article introduces a particular aspect of polymer properties and is accompanied by a list of references where in-depth information may be found. The work will appeal to both undergraduate and postgraduate students, experienced workers and those who require a rapid overview of polymer mechanical behavior.

This text, now in its second edition, offers an up-to-date, expanded treatment of the behaviour of polymers with regard to material variables and test and use conditions. It highlights general principles, useful empirical rules and practical equations.;Detailing the specific behaviour of many common polymers, the text: places emphasis on time and frequency dependence over temperature dependence; uses contemporary molecular mechanisms to explain creep, stress relaxation, constant strain rate responses and crazing; provides explicit equations to predict responses; supplies a discussion of large deformation multiaxial responses; compares statistical and continuum theories on the same data set; and updates stress-strain behaviour and particulate filled systems.

Providing an updated and comprehensive account of the properties of solid polymers, the book covers all aspects of mechanical behaviour.  This includes finite elastic behavior, linear viscoelasticity and mechanical relaxations, mechanical anisotropy, non-linear viscoelasicity, yield behavior and fracture. New to this edition is coverage of polymer nanocomposites, and molecular interpretations of yield, e.g. Bowden, Young, and Argon. The book begins by focusing on the structure of polymers, including their chemical composition and physical structure.  It goes on to discuss the mechanical properties and behaviour of polymers, the statistical molecular theories of the rubber-like state and describes aspects of linear viscoelastic behaviour, its measurement, and experimental studies. Later chapters cover composites and experimental behaviour, relaxation transitions, stress and yielding. The book concludes with a discussion of breaking phenomena.

"Rich and readable...personal, witty and ironic." --"Scientific American"