Polyolefins are the most widely used commercial polymers and their functionalization has been a long standing scientific challenge and an industrially important area. In recent decades significant progress has been made in the area, with exciting results reported in many journals. Functionalization of Polyolefins is the first book to summarize the significant experimental results on the functionalization of polyolefins and classify them into several chemical methods (shown in each chapter of this book). The book also provides an update on the functional polyolefin materials available today. The two key subject categories covered are: *Chemical approaches in the functionalization of polyolefins *New available polyolefin materials and their potential applications The book includes: *The historic development and future prospects for polyolefins *Functionalization chemistry, classified into four general approaches *Chemical approaches with experimental results *Functionalization approaches The book provides an invaluable reference for researchers in industry and academia interested in functionalization chemistry and polymers. It has been developed through Professor Chung's own teaching experience, both at Pennsylvania State University and on short courses. It is therefore ideally suited as a core text for advanced polymer chemistry and courses on polyolefins and polymers, as well as being a useful supplementary reference for introductory courses on polyolefin chemistry and materials. T.C. Mike Chung is Professor of Polymer Science in the Materials Science and Engineering Department, Pennsylvania State University, USA. He is one of the most experienced people in the field of polyolefin functionalization, with a wide-ranging knowledge gained through many years of experience both in academia and industry. Shows the available functionalisation approaches with a discussion of their scope and limitations Written by one of the most experienced people in this field
<b>Utilizes an encyclopedic approach to cover the developments in polyolefins and styrenics during the last decade</b> <p>This book focuses on common types of polymers belonging to the class of polyolefins and styrenics. The text is arranged according to the chemical constitution of polymers and reviews the developments that have taken place in the last decade. A brief introduction to the polymer type is given and previous monographs and reviews dealing with the topic are listed for quick reference. The text continues with monomers, polymerization, fabrication techniques, properties, application, as well as safety issues.</p> <p>Providing a rather encyclopedic approach to polyolefins and styrenics, <i>The Handbook of Engineering and Specialty Thermoplastics</i>:</p> <ul> <li> <p>Presents a listing of suppliers and commercial grades</p> </li> <li> <p>Reviews current patent literature, essential for the engineer developing new products</p> </li> <li> <p>Contains as extensive tradenames index with information that is fairly unique</p> </li> <li> <p>Concludes with an index of acronyms</p> </li> </ul> <p><i>The Handbook of Engineering and Specialty Thermoplastics: Polyolefins and Styrenics</i> provides a comprehensive reference for chemical engineers and offers advanced students with a textbook for use in courses on chemically biased plastics technology and polymer science.</p>
The definitive reference on the properties and applications of polyolefin blends<br /> <br /> Polyolefins account for more than half of total plastics consumption in the world. In recent years, usage of and research on polyolefin blends have increased significantly due to new applications in medicine, packaging, and other fields and the development of novel polyolefins. With a special emphasis on nano- and micro-structures of crystals and phase morphology, Polyolefin Blends condenses and consolidates current information on polyolefins so that the reader can compare, select, and integrate a material solution. Focusing exclusively on the fundamental aspects as well as applications of polyolefin blends, this authoritative reference:<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Features an introductory chapter that serves as a guide to polyolefin blends<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Includes chapters covering formulation design, processing, characterization, modeling and simulation, engineering performance properties, and applications<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Covers polyolefin/polyolefin blends and polyolefin/non-polyolefin blends<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Discusses miscibility, phase behavior, functionalization, compatibilization, microstructure, crystallization, hierarchical morphology, and physical and mechanical properties<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Covers new research trends including in-situ reactor blending and reactive processing, such as compatibilization/functionalization in the melt<br /> ∗<br /> <br /> Contains practical examples from open literature sources and commercial products<br /> <br /> With chapters contributed by leading experts from several countries, this is a must-have reference for scientists and engineers conducting research on polyolefin blends and for professionals in medical, packaging, and other commodity fields. It is also an excellent text for graduate students studying polymer science and polymer processing.
This guide to the properties and applications of polyolefin composites consolidates information to help the reader compare, select, and integrate a material solution as needed. It covers polyolefin microcomposites, polyolefin nanocomposites, and advanced polyolefin nano and molecular composites and discusses processing, morphological characterization, crystallization, structure and properties, and performance evaluation at micro and nano structural levels. It details modeling and simulation, engineering performance properties, and applications. This is a practical, hands-on reference for practicing professionals as well as graduate students.
Monomers composed of carbon and hydrogen atoms are the simple building blocks that make up polyolefins - molecules which are extremely useful and which have an extraordinary range of properties and applications. How these monomer molecules are connected in the polymer chain defines the molecular architecture of polyolefins. Written by two world-renowned authors pooling their experience from industry and academia, this book adopts a unique engineering approach using elegant mathematical modeling techniques to relate polymerization conditions, reactor and catalyst type to polyolefin properties. Readers thus learn how to design and optimize polymerization conditions to produce polyolefins with a given microstructure, and how different types of reactors and processes are used to create the different products. Aimed at polymer chemists, plastics technologists, process engineers,the plastics industry, chemical engineers, materials scientists, and company libraries.
Advances in Polymer Science enjoys a longstanding tradition and good reputation in its community. Each volume is dedicated to a current topic, and each review critically surveys one aspect of that topic, to place it within the context of the volume. The volumes typically summarize the significant developments of the last 5 to 10 years and discuss them critically, presenting selected examples, explaining and illustrating the important principles, and bringing together many important references of primary literature. On that basis, future research directions in the area can be discussed. Advances in Polymer Science volumes thus are important references for every polymer scientist, as well as for other scientists interested in polymer science - as an introduction to a neighboring field, or as a compilation of detailed information for the specialist.