This is the first monograph to specifically focus on fundamentals and applications of polyelectrolytes, a class of molecules that gained substantial interest due to their unique combination of properties. Combining both features of organic semiconductors and polyelectrolytes, they offer a broad field for fundamental research as well as applications to analytical chemistry, optical imaging, and opto-electronic devices. The initial chapters introduce readers to the synthesis, optical and electrical properties of various conjugated polyelectrolytes. This is followed by chapters on the applications of these materials in optical sensing and imaging with emphasis on biological systems, while the final section addresses the emerging applications of conjugated polyelectrolytes in optoelectronic devices, concluding with an in-depth discussion of structure-property relationship. The editors and contributors are all pioneers and experts in this expanding field. This monograph is not only for chemists, materials scientists, and physicists, but also a unique source of knowledge for readers with scientific background interested in polyelectrolytes.
Fluorinated ionomer polymers form impermeable membranes that conduct electricity, properties that have been put to use in large-scale electrochemical applications, revolutionizing the chlor-alkali industry and transforming production methods of some of the world's highest-production commodity chemicals: chlorine, sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide. The use of fluorinated ionomers such as Nafion® have removed the need for mercury and asbestos in these processes and led to a massive reduction in electricity usage in these highly energy-intensive processes. Polymers in this group have also found uses in fuel-cells, metal-ion recovery, water electrolysis, plating, surface treatment of metals, batteries, sensors, drug release technologies, gas drying and humidification, and super-acid catalysis used in the production of specialty chemicals. Walther Grot, who invented Nafion® while working for DuPont, has written this book as a practical guide to engineers and scientists working in electrochemistry, the fuel cell industry and other areas of application. His book is a unique guide to this important polymer group and its applications, in membranes and other forms. The 2e expands this handbook by over a third, with new sections covering developments in electrolysis and membranes, additional information about the synthesis and science of the polymer group, and an enhanced provision of reference data. An essential reference for scientists working with electrolysis and electrochemical processes (the use of this polymer group in industrial chemistry processes is credited with a 1% reduction in global electricity usage) Covers the techniques involved in the growing range of applications for fluorinated ionomers, including fuel cells, batteries and drug delivery The only book on this important polymer group, written by Walther Grot, the inventor of the leading fluorinated ionomer, Nafion® from DuPont
Functionalized Conjugated Polyelectrolytes presents a comprehensive review of these polyelectrolytes and their biomedical applications. Basic aspects like molecular design and optoelectronic properties are covered in the first chapter. Emphasis is placed on the various applications including sensing (chemical and biological), disease diagnosis, cell imaging, drug/gene delivery and disease treatment. This book explores a multi-disciplinary topic of interest to researchers working in the fields of chemistry, materials, biology and medicine. It also offers an integrated perspective on both basic research and application issues. Functionalized conjugated polyelectrolyte materials, which have already drawn considerable interest, will become a major new direction for biomedicine development.
A practical introduction to one of today′s most exciting and rapidly growing areas of polymer science.<br /> <br /> Introduction to Ionomers affords chemists, engineers, and graduate students an opportunity to familiarize themselves quickly and thoroughly with one of today′s most commercially important classes of polymers. Featuring a balanced, fully integrated presentation of basic science and state-of-the-art applications, the book provides the depth of knowledge researchers need to make optimal use of established ionomeric processes or to develop new systems of their own.<br /> <br /> The book′s primary conceptual thrust is the relationship between polymeric architecture and polymeric morphology and properties when affected by ionic groups. While it provides in-depth coverage of all common classes of ionomeric materials--including polystyrenes, polyethylenes, polyurethanes, and polyacrylics--non-crystalline materials are emphasized over partly-crystalline materials. Co-author Adi Eisenberg, a leading ionomer pioneer and innovator, provides a uniquely intimate historical perspective on the field as it has developed over the past three decades.<br /> <br /> Newcomers to ionomers will appreciate the authors′ clear and methodical presentations of difficult concepts, designed to promote rapid mastery of the core principles involved. The product of an exhaustive survey of the huge and rapidly growing world literature on the subject, Introduction to Ionomers is also an excellent resource for experienced professionals attempting to stay abreast of important recent developments in the field.
This book offers a valuable reference source to graduate and post graduate students, engineering students, research scholars polymer engineers from industry. The book provides the reader with current developments of theoretical models describing the thermodynamics polyelectrolytes as well as experimental findings. A particular emphasis is put on the rheological description of polyelectrolyte solutions and hydrogels.
One of the first comprehensive books to focus on the role of polymers in the burgeoning energy materials market Polymers are increasingly finding applications in the areas of energy storage and conversion. A number of recent advances in the control of the polymer molecular structure which allows the polymer properties to be more finely tuned have led to these advances and new applications. Polymers for Energy Storage and Conversion assimilates these advances in the form of a comprehensive text that includes the synthesis and properties of a large number of polymer systems for applications in areas such as lithium batteries, photovoltaics, and solar cells. Polymers for Energy Storage and Conversion: Introduces the structure and properties of polymer hydrogel with respect to its applications for low to intermediate temperature polymer electrolyte-based fuel cells Describes PVAc-based polymer blend electrolytes for lithium batteries Reviews lithium polymer batteries based on ionic liquids Proposes the concept of the solar cell with organic multiple quantum dots (MQDs) Discusses solvent effects in polymer-based organic photovoltaic devices Provides an overview of the properties of the polymers that factor into their use for solar power, whether for niche applications or for large-scale harvesting Reviews the use of macroporous organic polymers as promising materials for energy gas storage Readership Materials scientists working with energy materials, polymer engineers, chemists, and other scientists and engineers working with photovoltaics and batteries as well as in the solar and renewable energy sectors.