Skip to main content

RefWorks 2.0 Guide: How to Use RefWorks at Case: Exporting from Databases

Information on getting started using RefWorks at Case Western Reserve University

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Databases

 

Using RefWorks with Research Databases

Many databases have an option to export records directly into RefWorks. For other databases you must export the records to a file and then use the RefWorks import function. The appropriate method for each database interface is described in the database instructions accessed from the table below.

  • Direct export may not work if the browser pop-up blocker is ON;   turn OFF the pop-up blocker. 
  • Locate the database name in the table below and click the vendor name in the right column to view Xavier University's instructions for exporting records from that database interface and importing them into RefWorks. The instructions assume you know how to search the database and show how to mark/export records. Print these instructions for easy reference as you search the database you want to use.
  • Case Libraries may not subscribe to the specific database used in Xavier University's instructions. However; the Case Libraries have other databases from the vendors listed so the instructions on exporting database records and importing them into RefWorks will work as illustrated in Xavier's instructions.
  • For databases not listed in the table below, you can manually add citations to RefWorks. On the RefWorks toolbar open References and select Add New Reference.

 

Database Name

RefWorks Import Instructions by Vendor Interface

ABI Inform ProQuest
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Accounting and Tax Database ProQuest
AGELINE EBSCO
AGRICOLA EBSCO
Alt HealthWatch  EBSCO
Aluminum Industry Abstracts Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
American Humanities Index EBSCO
American Periodicals Series  ProQuest
Applied Science & Technology Abstract OhioLINK
Art Abstracts OhioLINK 
Arts & Humanities Citation Index ISI
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  RLG
Bibliography of the History of Art RLG
Biography Index OhioLINK
Biological & Agricultural Index OhioLINK
BIOSIS Previews, including Biological Abstracts OhioLINK
Book Review Digest OhioLINK 
Business & Industry OhioLINK 
Business Source Premier EBSCO
Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Chicano Database RLG
CINAHL EBSCO
Clase and Periodica OCLC
Clinical Pharmacology EBSCO
Cochrane Databases (OVID) OVID
Communication & Mass Media Complete EBSCO
Compendex 1969-present OhioLINK 
Compendex Historical 1884-1968 OhioLINK
Computer Source EBSCO
Contemporary Women's Issues OhioLINK 
Copper Data Center Database Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Corrosion Abstracts Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts ProQuest
Ecology Abstracts Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
EconLIT EBSCO
Electronic Journal Center EJC
Engineered Materials Abstracts Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
English Short Title Catalogue RLG
ERIC (OhioLINK version) OhioLINK 
ERIC (EBSCO version) EBSCO
Essay & General Literature Index OhioLINK 
Ethnic NewsWatch ProQuest
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews OVID
FRANCIS RLG
GenderWatch ProQuest
GeoRef OhioLINK 
GPO Monthly Catalog OCLC
Hand Press Book File RLG
Handbook of Latin American Studies RLG
Health Source - Consumer Edition EBSCO
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCO
Historical Abstracts OhioLINK 
Historical New York Times ProQuest
History of Science and Technology and Medicine RLG
Humanities Abstracts OhioLINK 
IEEE Xplore Xplore
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals RLG
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals RLG
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books OhioLINK 
Inside Information Plus RLG
INSPEC 1969-present OhioLINK 
Inspec Archive, 1898-1968 OhioLINK
ISI Citation Databases ISI
JSTOR JSTOR
Library Catalog (Case) Case Online Catalog
Library Literature OhioLINK 
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) EBSCO
Materials Business File Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
MEDLINE 1966 to present (OhioLINK) OhioLINK 
MEDLINE 195301965 (OhioLINK) OhioLINK 
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) EBSCO
MEDLINE (OVID) OVID
METADEX Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
MLA International Bibliography EBSCO
Newspaper Source EBSCO
NTIS SilverPlatter
OhioLINK catalog Innovative Interfaces OhioLINK
PAIS International OhioLINK 
PapersFirst OCLC
Philosopher’s Index Webspirs
ProceedingsFirst OCLC
Professional Development Collection EBSCO
PsycINFO, 1967 to present OhioLINK 
PsycINFO, 1887-1966 OhioLINK
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection EBSCO
PubMed NLM PubMed
Regional Business News EBSCO
Religion & Philosophy Collection EBSCO
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature OCLC
RLG Union Catalog RLG
Science Citation Index Expanded ISI
SciFINDER Scifinder
SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales RLG
SCOPUS

Elsevier
SocIndex Ebscohost
Social Sciences Citation Index ISI
Social Work Abstracts EBSCO
Sociological Abstracts1963-July 2005 OhioLINK
Sociological Collection EBSCO
Vocational & Career Collection EBSCO
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) ISI
WELDASEARCH Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
WorldCAT OCLC
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts OhioLINK