Skip to main content

Graduate Student - KSL Library Handbook: Research Assistance

Introduction to KSL resources and services

Ask A Librarian

 

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Tools To Manage Your Research & Cite Sources

To respect intellectual property, the ideas of others, it is ethically and morally responsible to credit writers for their work and their writing.

Style Guides--MLA, Chicago, APA, CBE, and Other Web-based Guides

A style guide or style manual provides standards for how information should be cited in books, journals articles, and other media. These are the most used guides for documenting research.

Research Assistance and Online Guides

Research Services

Research Services consists of four major functions: collection management, research support, information fluency instruction, and liaison activities with faculty and departments.

You may contact us via:

  • Live Chat Reference Services - Fall and Spring hours are 11am to 5pm
  • E-mail - Answers are generally received within one business day
  • Research Services = phone or text messages: (216) 236-3KSL (216-236-3575)

Subject Guides, Tutorials, and Specialized Collections and Services

Subject/Course Guides - KSL Librarians have created online guides to the best resources for subject areas (such as Marketing or  Anthropology) or for a specific course (such as English 400).  See what guides are available that may help you in your work.

Special Collections Research Center  -The Special Collections Research Center offers specialized research and reference services tailored to the needs of faculty, staff, students and visiting researchers. This area was specifically designed to provide a protective and controlled environment for those Kelvin Smith Library materials which require extraordinary care and handling and which do not circulate. The collection consists primarily of either printed books or original manuscripts and documents, but also includes photographs, periodicals, works of art and audio-visual recordings

Center For Statistics and Geospatial Data - The Center for Statistics and Geospatial Data (CSGD) provides a free campus-wide resource for statistical analysis and geographic information systems (GIS) use. It alleviates the common challenges numeric and geographic information users face in finding appropriate data, obtaining that data in a useable format and utilizing data analysis tools.

Copyright@Case - what you need to know about using copyrighted works & your author's rights

Research Services Librarians

You can contact a librarian by phone, email, chat, or in-person to assist in all your needs. See our Ask A Librarian services page.