Skip to main content

English 310/410: History of the English Language: Print and Reference Resources

Research Guide for English 310/410, History of the English Language

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Print and Reference Sources in HEL

Use the drop down menu above to find titles related to the various aspects of the History of the English Language that you will need for each of your class projects.

In general, you can search the online catalog by keyword or Library of Congress Subject Heading for the topics of interest.  Each of the sub-pages here will give you suggestions and a list of standard references which will be of use to you.

In addition, you can learn more about using our library catalog and the OhioLINK Central catalog at the research guide for SAGES First Seminar.  This guide has more specific information about using these tools, as well as video tutorials to lead you through the specific uses of the catalogs.

Finding Items in KSL Special Collections, Method 1

Finding items in Special Collections, Method 1:

You can use the library catalog's advanced search function to locate items that are shelved in Special Collections- click on the blue Advanced Search button.

On the next screen, you can search by keyword (or author, etc.) but importantly, use the limits available to you to return only Special Collections items. Here, I've searched for the keyword "slave", for books in English published between 1400 and 1800, and location of Univ Lib Other Servs (which translates to Special Collections.)

From the search results, you might find this record for a book by Aphra Behn.  To use this book, contact the staff of Special Collections.

Finding Items in KSL Special Collections, Method 2

Finding items in Special Collections, Method 2:

You can use the library's Summon Search to locate items that are shelved in Special Collections. The Summon search box appears at the top of most library pages. Click on the "advanced search" link below the search box:

On the next screen, you can search by keyword (or author, etc.) but importantly, use the limits available to you to return only Special Collections items. Here, I've searched for the keyword "printing", for materials published between 1600 and 1700, and only items from our catalog.

The list of search results will include both books and ebooks and will probably be long. Use the limit functions along the left side of the screen to only include books from specific locations. Under "LIBRARY LOCATIONS" click on "MORE" and then select specific locations, in this case KSL Special Collections stacks. To use one of these books, contact the staff of Special Collections.