Skip to main content

International Students Library Handbook: International Resources

Welcome to the Library–here are useful tips, information, answers to help you get started with your research!

Ask A Librarian

 

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Online Newspapers and News in Foreign Languages

  Some library newspaper databases provided news in foreign languages.

  In PressReader, click on the "options" icon on the up left corner and select "Publications." Then choose by either  "Countries" or "Languages" based on your interest.

   In LexisNexis Academic, there is a link for "Foreign Language News" under "Search by Subject or Topic" above the main search box.

Non-English Languages in Databases

   

EBSCOhost (Academic Search Complete) has many databases and offers more than 30 language choices.

Listen to an article: When the microphone 'Listen' icon appears, you can choose the language you would like to hear. Choose American, Australian, or British accents, and Slow, Medium, or Fast speeds. Download the MP3 file for listening later!

Some articles can be "translated" to another languages in EBSCO databases. From the article detail (html articles only), use the "Choose Language" drop-down list.

Print or save a translated text with your browser's Print or Save function. If you print, email, or save the full text from the database, it will be delivered in the original language it is in the database (before you change it.) Note: translating is an automated "gisting" application, resulting in a translation that is meant to enhance your understanding of the original document. It does not produce the kind of translation that a human translator would provide.

ProQuest has 12-18 language choices (Accounting, Tax & Banking, Dissertations & Theses, Nursing & Allied Health Databases). Click on the "Language" filter on the left of the result page to refine.

KSL provides some Non-English language resources/databases. You'll find Latin American resources and French literature.