Skip to main content

Online Databases: Advanced Search Techniques and Strategies for Graduate Students in Music and Music Education: Library Procedures

How to use the Advanced Search space available in most online databases. Specifically for graduate students in music and music education.

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Basic Library Procedures

User Authentication: The Case Network, CaseWireless and VPN.

Most library resources are made available by subscriptions purchased by the Case Libraries, the CIM Robinson Music Library, or the state wide consortium OhioLink. Our contracts with the vendors who supply us with access to these resources require that they only be used by authorized members of the Case/CIM community -- faculty, students and staff. There are three ways you can be treated as an authenticated Case user and allowed access to our online resources. The three ways are based on your location and the type of computer and connection you are using:

No. 1. Hardwired connections to the network: any computer which has a wire connection to the Case network, such as library computers, is treated as an authenticated connection. Some library computers require a login with your Case ID and password and some are considered guest computers and do not.

No. 2. CaseWireless: Case installed a new, faster wireless network during the summer of 2011. It is called CaseWireless as opposed to the old (and still operational) CaseGuest wireless network. When using a laptop or mobile device on the Case or CIM campuses, be sure you are using the CaseWireless network. Once you have setup and accessed CaseWireless for the first time, which requires your Case ID and password, your laptop will connect to the wireless without having to login. Whenever you are on this network you are an authenticated user.

No. 3. AnyConnect VPN Client: VPN (Virtual Private Network) is client software (free download for anyone with a Case ID and password) which authenticates you when you are using an internet connection from home or when (for some reason) you are using the old wireless network. If you are using the CaseGuest wireless network, you must you VPN.

Computer problems related to the network, connectivity and the like can be addressed to the Case ITS help site. Problems specific to online databases can be addressed to library staff. More information about using VPN for wireless or remote access, as well as free downloads of the VPN software for members of the Case community, can be found on the Case Help site for VPN.


Your Library Account:


The Case libraries online catalog allows you to view your library account. Once you are logged in, you will be able to view which items you have checked out, when they are due and you will be able to renew them online if need be.

Case students use the same Case ID and password they use for other resources. If you have problems contact Stephen Toombs (stephen.toombs@case.edu) or Jeffrey Quick (jeffrey.quick@case.edu) at the Case Kulas Music Library (368-2403).

CIM students use a different login procedure than Case students. CIM students should contact the circulation desk at the CIM Robinson Music Library (216-707-4508) to setup access to their library account.

All students are expected to manage their library accounts. You are responsible for any fines accrued because of items which you failed to renew or return on time. If you have any problems or questions, please contact the staffs at either music library.


Local Collections:

Case Kulas Music Library and CIM Robinson Music Library

The music libraries at Case and CIM represent an important facet of the CIM/Case Joint Music Program. The collections of both libraries are cataloged and indexed in the Case Libraries and Affiliates Online Catalog. The collections have been developed to reflect institutional strengths but avoid unnecessary duplication. All graduate level students at Case and CIM should take advantage of both libraries in terms of research, study and performance. The hours of the two libraries are coordinated and listed on each library's webpage

Case Kelvin Smith Library:

KSL is the main library on the Case campus. It houses the university's library collections in all areas except music and various professional disciplines which have independent libraries (law, medicine and social work). Besides the collections it contains, it provides 24/7 study space and the Freedman Center, a space for multimedia authorship

Cleveland Public Library:

Cleveland Public Library's downtown main facility has a great deal to offer as a research library. The music section is part of the Fine Arts Department. A library card is free and it should allow you access to their online database collection. The downtown facility has a large circulating media collection. The Cleveland Heights/University Heights Public Library is an independent library, but has a relationship with Cleveland Public Library which allows book requests sent to Cleveland Public to be delivered to and picked up at Cleveland Heights/University Heights. In addition, the Lee Road branch of the Cleveland Heights/University Heights Public Library has an excellent circulating media collection.

Cuyahoga County Public Library:

The Cuyahoga County Public Library is a good source for books on music and circulating media. A library card is free and it should allow you access to their online database collection. Since Cuyahoga County Public Library is now a member of OhioLink, once you graduate you can retain borrowing privileges at Case if you have a card there. There is no large central library, but one of the larger branches is the Mayfield Branch.


Distant Collections:

OhioLink:

OhioLink is statewide library consortium of which Case is a member. The OhioLink Central Online Catalog lists the holdings of all the member libraries of OhioLink. Member libraries may make requests online for items listed in the central catalog. The item will automatically be paged and sent to Case (unless your home library owns the item and it is available.) You may choose to have it delivered to Kulas or Kelvin Smith Library. Allow about one week for delivery, although you will often get it sooner. You will be notified by email when the item arrived. Note that items that don't circulate locally at a specific OhioLink member library, items such as media, journals or reference works, will not circulate over OhioLink. NOTE: CIM students may use the OhioLink catalog as a tool for identifying items of interest to them, but CIM is not an OhioLink member and CIM students may not borrow through OhioLink.


Interlibrary Loan (Case):

Case students should use interlibrary loan whenever they cannot find an item locally or on OhioLink, or when they need an article which is in a journal which is neither held locally nor available through one of the library's online journals. The Case Libraries have an interlibrary loan system called ILLiad. Once you have registered for an account you can use the online form to place interlibrary loan orders and track their progress.


Interlibrary Loan (CIM):

CIM students should use interlibrary loan whenever they cannot find an item locally or when they need an article which is in a journal which is neither held locally nor available through one of the library's online journals. CIM has an online interlibrary loan form which you should submit for items needed.


Online Collections:

Online Full Text Journals:

The Case Libraries acquire online journals from a variety of sources: local subscriptions to current journals or bundles of back issues, or subscriptions through OhioLink. Some subscriptions to indexes also come with access to full text (example: Humanities International Complete). Journal issues for a specific title may come from various sources in order for the library to have as full an online run as possible for that journal. The library's eJournal Portal brings all information about specific journal titles together in one place. The eJournal Portal is accessible from many library web pages through the left-hand sidebar under "Research Tools". The eJournal Portal is the best way to check to see if you have access to a specific journal title or specific issue of a journal. An eJournal Portal title search on "early music" shows that we have access to the online version of the journal "Early Music" and that it comes from three sources (with some overlap):

eJournal Portal


There are other ways to access full text ejournals (entries in the online catalog, links from databases which index the journal), but this is the only way to see the full extent of the library's access.

Online Full Text Books:

Case libraries acquire access to online full text books from various sources: subscriptions to large collections of books (example: netLibrary or Early English Books Online), full text books which are part of an index (example: MIT Cognet), or through OhioLink. There is no central comprehensive index to these and not all individual titles are listed in the online catalog. A summary of the eBook collections is accessible from many library web pages through the left-hand sidebar under "Research Tools".  The best way to access these is to examine these collections for relevance to your research interests by browsing through them.