Skip to main content

ELS Guide: Academic Search Complete

Resource for ELS class.

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Using a Database

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information made available in a digital format (online). Using an electronic, online database you will be able to gather articles from journals without having to use printed journals. Remember, as ELS students you must be in the library using a Guest computer to access Academic Search Complete.  If you are both an ELS and a Case student enrolled in the University, you can download and use VPN. 


Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a general-studies database you will find useful for getting journal articles for using in your research paper.

If you're in Kelvin Smith Library on a Guest computer, click on the picture to get to Academic Search Complete.

 

Finding Academic Search Complete

 

From Kelvin Smith Library's website, you can get to Academic Search Complete by clicking the "Databases" tab under "Collections" where the red arrow is pointing below. It is the fourth database listed under "Research Databases".

Searching in Academic Search Complete

How do I decide which words to use when I search in a database?

When you know what topic you need information on, you can start looking for articles in Academic Search Complete. Remember that short terms will give you the best results. For example, if you want to find articles on the economic aspects of global warming, you could search for the terms global warming and economic aspects (of global warming) as a quick way to tell the database what you are looking for. It is best that you do not search in a database like you would in Google even though you are searching online. Pick just a few words.

You will see that there are 3 blank search boxes for you to put words in. Using the same example as above, you would put one word per box so global warming and economic aspects would each be separate. You could also narrow your search more by seaching for global warming and economic aspects and farming (we are looking for articles that discuss how global warming effects the the business of farming).

 


Brainstorming your Topic