Research Guides: Economics: Find Articles & News

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 130 views this year

The Economist

The Economist offers a robust web page, in addition to the Print Edition version in the top menu bar as "Weekly Edition"

Also find the current edition near the middle of the page, with the full cover art & a link to "Read the full edition"

TIPS:

No personal login is required – select the Economist from one of our database list links (Management, Economics, etc.)
25 years' worth of back issues are available in the "Browse All Editions" link next to the "Current Edition"
Select the year you want to read, browse the covers for the weekly editions

Click the top menu bar to select other areas of interest, plus features, topic areas, podcasts and more.

Economist This link opens in a new window
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.

Articles in Databases

The KSL Research Database List for Economics also has other complementing databases in Accounting, Banking and Finance, Management. This partial list highlights featured databases related to economics information, trends, news & more.

Find related research in the Business Folder on the Research Database list for Accounting, Banking and Finance, Labor, General Business & Management, Market & Industry Analysis, and other business fields.

Management Research Database Folder

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Includes literature, citations, abstracts, book reviews from major journals, proceedings, books, dissertations, and working papers from major publications & the American Economic Association. Covers 1969 to current. Includes econometrics, markets, forecasting, regulations, labor, monetary theory, accounting and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Consultants and consulting organizations directory
Provides information on firms and individuals from the U.S. and Canada in the consulting services industry. Covers 14 general fields of consulting activity ranging from agriculture to marketing, and more..

Economist This link opens in a new window
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.

CWRU Libraries Discovery

Newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).