This is the "Introduction & Highlights" page of the "Virtual Knowledge Center for Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Virtual Knowledge Center for Energy   Tags: energy, solar, sustainability, wind  

Supporting the energy instruction and research needs of CWRU, Cleveland, Ohio, and beyond.
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.case.edu/energy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Introduction & Highlights Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

Customer Service Rating by LivePerson

 

See Ask A Librarian page for additional contact methods.

 

Engineering Reading Room

The Engineering Librarian, Brian Gray, holds office hours in various locations in CSE such as Nord Hall 3rd or 4th floor. See calendar for planned hours.

I can also come to your office, laboratory, or elsewhere where you study. Best way to contact me for an appointment is to email me at bcg8@case.edu.

 

GREENR: Environment, Energy, & Natural Resources

GREENR logo

GREENR can be accessed from the Research Database list or from this link.

  • Updated daily.
  • Portals that cover topics such as energy, air & water quality, carbon footprints, resource management, land reclamation, and related environmental issues.
  • Multi-disciplinary.
  • Looks at issues from the standpoint of business, economics, law, science, etc.
  • See the big picture by having access to periodicals, current news, academic journals, podcasts, videos, images, and conference proceedings.
  • In the future, it will also include information about governance by state, funding, and green jobs (might include actual job board).

Watch a 2-minute highlight video to see an overview.

 

Introduction

KSL supporting energy alliance logo

The energy research guide supports all instruction and research needs of Case Western Reserve University, while also providing a resource for Cleveland, northeast Ohio, and beyond.

As the Kelvin Smith Library purchases and/or locates new resources, they will be highlighted at http://researchguides.case.edu/energy. Helpful suggestions and guidances in searching energy and sustainability information will be provided.

 

Energy Alerting Service

KSL offers access to a daily alerting service that tracks environmental and energy policy. Content can be viewed from the website (http://eenews.net/), by RSS feed, or you may sign up for email alerts on the website (look for "Get E-mail Alerts" at the bottom of the page). VPN is required for viewing the website when using wireless or off campus.

In addition to daily news and analysis, our subscription gives you access to special reports and valuable research tools located at http://eenews.net/. Be sure to check out the searchable story and video archive, and key documents.

Logos for energy alerting service
About ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, E&ENews PM and Land Letter:
ClimateWire tracks the daily politics and policy on climate change issues, both nationally and globally. E&E Daily and Greenwire both track environmental and energy issues. While E&E Daily focuses on environmental and energy legislation in the U.S. Congress, Greenwire covers how these issues play out in the courts, states and federal agencies. E&E Daily is published every day Congress is in session and Greenwire is published 5 days a week at noon, Eastern Time. E&ENews PM is published daily at 4:30 p.m., and brings you all the late-breaking developments from Capitol Hill and everywhere else, so you're ahead of tomorrow's headlines and up-to-speed on any major action. Land Letter, published every Thursday at 1:00 PM, takes an in-depth look at natural resources and conservation issues.

Key Research Databases

  • Compendex on Engineering Village (1884-present)
    Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database that is the electronic equivalent of the print Engineering Index. Covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports
  • IEEE Xplore
    The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online puts publications from the IEEE and the IEE at your fingertips. Locate journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
    Delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content.
  • Knovel
    Contains the full text of engineering handbooks, manuals, data sets, and conference proceedings for researchers in the sciences, technology, and engineering.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    The main chemistry database and all topics that included chemistry.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

Chemical & Macromolecular Engineering

Profile Image
Brian C. Gray
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Kelvin Smith Library 201-K
Phone: (216) 368-8685
Send Email
Title:
Team Leader Research Services; Librarian for Engineering
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip