Skip to main content

Music: Home

Music Library Resources at Case

Ask A Librarian

 

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Music Library Resources at Case: Introduction

The resources for the research and study of music exist in three places at Case:

  • The Kulas Music Library which occupies the first floor of Haydn Hall on the Mather Quad and is a branch library of the Kelvin Smith Library,
  • The many online resources provided by the Kelvin Smith Library.
  • The collections of OhioLINK libraries, of which Case is a member library.

Kulas Music Library provides onsite help for the research and study of music. Its collections are open to all members of the Case community. Books on music and musical scores circulate in a manner similar to the collections in the Kelvin Smith Library. CDs and DVDs are available to be used in the library. All materials held by the library are listed in Case's online library catalog.

The collections at Kulas Music Library mirror the curricula of the music degree programs at Case and the research interests of the music faculty. In broad terms these include: history of music, musicology, historical performance practice and music education. More recently, with the implementation of the program in popular music, popular music has been added as a collection focus.


Online resources related to music include online journals and books, reference works in music, indexes to the literature of music, and streaming audio databases.


The collections of the member libraries of OhioLINK, searchable via the OhioLINK online catalog, greatly expand and enhance our local resources. Particular note should be made of the score collections.


The Robinson Music Library at the Cleveland Institute of Music is an additional resource available to only to Case music majors and MFA students in dance. Other members of the Case community should rely on Kulas Music Library and OhioLINK. Case Western Reserve University and the Cleveland Institute of Music have a long established joint music program and Kulas Music Library both supports the joint program as well as coordinates resources with the Robinson Music Library.

Profile

Mark Eddy
Contact:
Mark A. Eddy
Research Services Librarian
Religious Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Psychology, Communication Science, Music (interim)
Room 201-J
Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
E-mail: mark.eddy@case.edu
Phone: 216-368-5457