This is the "Library of Publicly Available Web Resources" page of the "Library of Publicly Available Web Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library of Publicly Available Web Resources  

We have compiled a collection of web sites from both public and private organizations that provide quality information at no cost. This list is not intended to be comprehensive. KSL doesn't guarantee accuracy of information presented in these sites
Last Updated: Jul 5, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.case.edu/publicresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Library of Publicly Available Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Interest

Government

American Fact Finder - from the U.S. Cenus Dept. A portal to census data and other statistical and demographic information for the U.S. Get a profile of your community; find trends for an industry at the national, state, county or MSA level. Connects to the complete Economic Census data since 1997.

Bureau of Economic Analysis - BEA prepares national, regiona (state and local) , industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships.

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Provides recent and historical statistics on all aspects of labor and financial demographics. National and regional coverage. Includes, Consumer Price Index, and the Monthly Labor Review.

Census Bureau - official source for U.S.  population, demographics and economic census data. Coverage from 1992 on

EDGAR- full text of public companies filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (e.g 10K & 10Q)

IRS -All things taxes. The place for forms and information.

Ohio State Government - official portal to state government web site. Information on work, business, education.

Ohio Tourism and Travel - find out where to go, and what to do in Ohio.


International

CIA World  Factbook -provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

GlobalEdge - from Michigan State University. A collection of thousands of international business resources selected based on content and usability.

International Monetary Fund-  analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country group.

United Nations Data - the statistical resources of the UN. Global coverage of social, economic, energy, environment, health, labor, trade, industry.


General Interest

Ad*Acess  - presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 in five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies. From Duke University.

AnyWho.com - From ATT. Look up people or businesses. Also reverse look up available

Consumer Price Index - produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics

Cost of Living Calculator - from American Economic Institute

Digital Case - wide variety of information about CWRU including: photographs and audio recordings from University Archives (which cover historical events at CWRU), digital copies of rare books and manuscripts in Special Collections, and current research data and the intellectual output of faculty.

Google Scholar - Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

 Guidestar  -database of non-profit organizations. Basic data free with registration including full text of 990 filings. 

Infoplease - a free, authoritative, reference source  for Internet users. Combines encyclopedia, almanac, atlas, dictionary thesaurus.

Library of Congress Virtual Reference Shelf - links to valuable web resources. What this list does only bigger.



 


 

Medical/Sciences

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model Original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. THE SITE PROVIDES ACCESS TO 208 PEER REVEIWED OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS.

Center for Disease Control (CDC) - U.S. government's primary online communication channel for all health related issues.. Provides users with credible, reliable health information on: Data and Statistics:  Diseases and Conditions: Emergencies and Disasters: Environmental Health:Healthy Living : Injury, Violence and Safety: Life Stages and Populations: Travelers' Health: Workplace Safety and Health

ChemIDplus A free database of 350000 chemical compounds. Records consist of name, synonyms, CAS number, molecular formula, and direct links to biomedical resources.

Civil Engineering Database - American Society of Civil Engineers. Free service providing access to 170,000+ bibliographic records of ASCE's publications

Electronic Theses and Dissertation Center - a free, online database of Ohio’s masters and doctoral theses from participating OhioLINK member schools. Covers all subjects. The full-text is also available if it was submitted otherwise abstracts are included.

Energy Citations Database - access to over 2.4 million citations to scientific research of interest to the Dept. of Energy.

Entrez -A cross-database search engine that includes PubMed (MEDLINE), PubMed Central, Human Genome, GenBank, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) and other NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, including databases of protein and nucleic acid sequences. For help with searching these databases see the NCBI Handbook.

Google Patent Search - Read and download millions of patents and patent applications by searching the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you

HealthFinder - web site for consumers from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Healthfinder® has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet.  Provides links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,600 organizations.

National Institutes of Health - a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - all things weather related from daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce.

PubMed (Public Access to Medline)  Indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE.  Coverage: 1950 - present

RXList - internet drug index for perscription drugs

ToxNet - From the United States National Library of Medicine ToxNet is comprised of several databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

 

Social Sciences/Humanities

American Memory Project - From the Library of Congress. Free online access to written and spoken recordings, still and moving images, maps, music that document the American experience. Materials are  from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions and chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

American Rhetoric -database and index to 5000+ full text versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews and other recorded media events.

Bartleby.com- A collection of online resources dealing with verse, fiction and nonfiction.

Best History Web Sites annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

Child Welfare Information Gateway  promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals as well as the general public to timely, essential information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Electronic Theses and Dissertation Center  The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio’s masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) -ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, conference and policy papers and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.

Gender Inn searchable database providing access to over 8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.Maintained by Unversity of Cologne

Literary History.com - collection of annotated links on 19th-century British and 20th century British and American writers.

Literary Resources on the Web - Links to hundreds of resources for all periods biblical to modern. From Rutgers.

Northeast Ohio Can Do Database is a free and publicly accessible social and economic data system of the Center on Urban Poverty and Community Development, a research institute housed at Case Western Reserve University's Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences. NEO CANDO allows users to access data for the entire 17 county Northeast Ohio region, or for specific neighborhoods within the region.

Science Fiction & Fantasy Research Database- from Texas A&M. Index to 73,000+ books and articles about SF, Fantasy, Horror

Victorian Web- literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip