Judaic Studies: Online Resources & Collections

The Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory is the prime gateway to 504 high quality resources for the study of Judaism, including access to library catalogs and to databases like "RAMBI - Index of Articles in Jewish Studies".

"The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives (AJA), located on the historic Cincinnati campus of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, was established in 1947 by renowned historian, Dr. Jacob Rader Marcus to collect, preserve, and make available for research, materials on the history of Jews and Jewish communities in the Western Hemisphere, including data of a political, economic, social, cultural, and religious nature." ~ from the Archives website

DigiBaeck is your gateway to LBI's digital collections, a growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era. DigiBaeck provides instant access to materials ranging from rare 16th century renaissance books to memoirs that document the experience of German-Jewish émigrés across the world in the 20th century. ~ LBI website

"The Digital Archaeological Atlas of the Holy Land (DAAHL) is an international project that brings together experts in information technology including Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and the archaeology of the Holy Land (modern Israel, Palestine, Jordan, southern Lebanon, Syria and the Sinai Peninsula) to create the first on-line digital atlas of the region held sacred to the three great monotheistic faiths - Judaism, Christianity and Islam" ~ from the Atlas website

The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of 1,375 papyri from ancient Egypt.

JTA-Global News Service of the Jewish People includes US and international news.

Resources openly available online indicated as "Unrestricted Access"

RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). ~ from the Penn Library description