Kelvin Smith Library
In addition to books about Coleridge, you may also want to look for scholarly articles from journals written about him or his work. For this, the most comprehensive research database is the MLA International Bibliography. It indexes scholarly journals, books, book chapters and dissertations in all aspects of the modern languages.
Since the MLA International Bibliography is so extensive, you can search for articles written about specific poems. For example, a simple keyword search for “Frost at Midnight” returns 44 items.
The double-edged sword of the MLA International Bibliography is that because it indexes so exhaustively, it will find many items which are neither available full text online, nor are in KSL’s print collection. The Find It button will help you with this. Books can of course be requested directly online via OhioLink. For articles from journals, remember to use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request copies of journal articles from other institutions.
There are two tools that help us track the conversations that take place among scholars. Both of these tools allow us to track citations, that is, track in both directions those items that scholars use in their bibliography. For example, when you write a paper on a topic, you create a bibliography to support or clarify (or contradict!) the things you say in the paper. These two tools keep track of those bibliographies and allow you to look at both that list of items at the end of a scholarly paper, and a list of others who cite THAT paper.
The first tool is called the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can do a keyword or topic search, or search for a specific author whose work you would like to track. Note that each record has something called "Times cited" and "References". These links go both forward and backward for works cited.
The second is actually a version of a Google search, using Google's tool called Google Scholar. Note in the results list of a search the "times cited" link. Also note that if you are using Google Scholar on an authenticated network connection, OLinks and other full text options will appear with your search.