Skip to main content

The Literature of Fly Fishing

This guide was created to accompany the class session on researching the literature of fly fishing for Professor Orlock's SAGES seminar

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

Online bibliographies and ebooks

This is a rare case in which I recommend a Wikipedia page!

Specifically, the Wikipedia page Bibliography of Fly Fishing books is a good one to find books on specific topics and from specific time periods.

For those books that were published before 1924 and are out of copyright, links are provided to the online full text.  For newer books, search for the titles in OhioLINK to borrow them from other libraries if we do not own them.

Another excellent bibliography is available from the Clarke Historical Library at Central Michigan University and their Reed Draper Collection of Angling Books.

Online e-book collections

While the list mentioned above does a great job of providing access to books on fly fishing, sometimes one needs to search for oneself!

There are several online collections that can be useful in this case.

OhioLINK E-Book Center- a collection of tens of thousands of full text books, primarily reference and academic titles.

Google Book Search- full text books limited to only those published before 1923 (out of copyright) as well as "preview" content of newer books.

Internet Archive- a warehouse of many different kinds of media, but their e-book collection has many titles of use, again, primarily for those materials that are out of copyright.

CWRU Libraries Discovery