by Brian Gray
Last Updated Jun 23, 2021
536 views this year
Searching for Reference Collections
University-level libraries offer a wide variety of topical and subject specific reference collections. Many of the entries for terminology, key concepts and topics, people, ...etc. in these works include multi-page essays and bibliographies. Make sure to take full advantage of these collections, both in print and online.
Types of reference works include:
directories (for people and associations)
historical atlases and almanacs
Use the names of reference types in keyword searches to find the sections of Case Libraries reference collection that address your topic.
Online catalogkeyword search example = (“encyclopedia/dictionary/handbook”) + (research topic keywords)
If the reference source is not available electronically, make sure to note the location of the print reference source in the catalog entry.
The Handbook of Developmental Science, Behavior, and Genetics brings together the cutting-edge theory, research and methodology that contribute to our current scientific understanding of the role of genetics in the developmental system.
The foundations of practice and the most recent discoveries in theintriguing newfield of evolutionary psychology Why is the mind designed the way it is? How does input from the environment interact with the mind to produce behavior? By taking aim at such questions, the science of evolutionary psychology has emerged as a vibrant new discipline producing groundbreaking insights.