Skip to main content

USSY 289A Do We Have Free Will? - Research Guide: Reference Shelf

Ask KSL

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.
  • More information see this guide.

Topical Reference Examples

Reference Collection Search Technique

University-level libraries offer a wide variety of topical and subject specific reference collections.  Make sure to take advantage of these print collections, as many of them will not be available electronically.

Types of reference works include:

  • topical encyclopedias
  • biographical dictionaries
  • directories (for people and associations)
  • historical atlases and almanacs
  • subject handbooks
  • subject guides
  • statistical compendia
  • subject bibliographies
  • Companions & Readers

Use these reference type names in keyword searches to find the section of the reference collection that addresses your topic.

  • Online catalog keyword search example = (“encyclopedia/dictionary/handbook”) + (research topic keywords)

Philosophy Reference Examples

Here are just a few of the many philosophy reference sources available online and in print from the Case Libraries.  There are many, many more!  See the box to the left for more on how to find them.

Comprehensive Electronic Reference Resources

Simultaneously search the full text of every volume in these online interdisciplinary references collections.