Skip to main content

USSY 290R Religious Pluralism - Research Guide

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

Primary Sources, and How to Find Them

Here's a very helpful online guide from University of Illinois Library website:

Primary Sources Research Guide

This guide describes effective search techniques for locating primary sources in catalogs, indexes, and online archives. 

Note that many of the reference resources, citation index collections and online primary resource archives listed on this guide are also available through the KSL website.

Also be aware that there are other physical and electronic collections in the Case Libraries system that provide lots of primary sources.  Locations for these resources are indicated in Case Libraries online catalog records.

Electronic Full Text Collections

Historical Newspaper Collections

KSL hosts several collections of major American newspapers in full text, spanning the 19th and 20th centuries.  See the link below for a full list.  You can also use the Lexis Nexis Academic database for news coverage back to 1980.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

The Readers' Guide is a key research resource for exploring 20th century American history and popular culture as chronicled in mainstream periodicals.  KSL has a print copy of this multi-volume index on the first floor of the library.

CWRU Libraries Discovery