Skip to main content

Expanded Content and Services during Covid-19: Home

The library is adding temporary content turned on to support our current virtual-only environment.

Librarian

Jennifer Starkey's picture
Jennifer Starkey
Contact:
Kelvin Smith Library 201-F
216-368-6511
Website

Ask KSL

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.
  • More information see this guide.

Online Learning Support

Library Expands E-Content

Annual Reviews - all journals & no restrictions

To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, all Annual Reviews journals are available without restrictions through Thursday, April 30, 2020. On that date, Annual Reviews will assess the need to extend this policy.

APA Publication Manual & Other Resources

Temporary free access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books through VitalSource and RedShelf.

These will be available for free to instructors and students at participating nonprofit academic institutions affected by campus closures until May 25, 2020.

These platforms are those used for e-textbooks and not the library e-book platforms.

Cambridge University Press

The following content has been added through May 31st:

  • Cambridge Companions: Authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
  • Cambridge Histories: Reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.
  • Cambridge Elements: New concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.
  • Institutional Textbooks: over 700 HTML textbooks

Cengage - Open Access Textbooks & Course Materials for Students and Faculty

Cengage is offering:

  • Free access to entire catalog - all online learning platforms and eTexts - through Cengage Unlimited, through end of term, to any student in any class at any U.S. college that has been impacted by COVID-19. 
    • By opening up Cengage Unlimited, students get access to high quality, proven materials and digital platforms across 675 course areas, all in one place.
    • They also get access to our Cengage Mobile App, which enables them to access learning materials in the event that they do not have internet access or a computer at home.
  • Open access resources for educators, both resources for general best practices and strategies that can be used by anyone using any product, and resources for using Cengage’s products online.  And for faculty who want to use our courseware, personalized services to get up and running.

EBSCO Databases - Lots more full-text content

Current EBSCO collections have been upgraded to add more full-text through June 30, 2020.

Elsevier ScienceDirect Textbooks

Over 300+ textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will automatically be available for a period of 90 days. Users access books on ScienceDirect.

HathiTrust

Once logged in to HathiTrust, you will now be able to access the entire public domain corpus plus temporarily have limited access to in-copyright and copyright-undetermined volumes that are held at CWRU Libraries. Almost 50% of the campus's print holdings are now available for online reading through this temporary arrangement. Access is temporary until the campus libraries reopen.

Internet Archive: National Emergency Library

The National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. It is a general collection of over 1 million books of both general and research value.  The collection contains online access to older books (both out-of-copyright and in-copyright books from the 1920’s to 1990s) for which there is typically not a published e-book version, but It does not contain many textbooks. It will be available through end of June 2020.

See the FAQ for sign-up instructions and details on how lending works.

JoVE - All titles temporarily live

The Health Sciences Library has worked with JoVE to turned on most of the content until June 15. 

JoVE Journal is the premier peer-reviewed, fully indexed video methods journal.  Publishing approximately 150 video articles a month across 13 sections, all articles include a detailed text protocol and help to increase scientific reproducibility and productivity.  A new research product:

Encyclopedia of Experiments was first released in February 2020 and is designed as the first-in-the-world online video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments.  This resource enables scientists to efficiently learn new experiments and research technologies to advance their work.

JoVE's Education Content includes Science Education, a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific and clinical fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.  This is primarily used as a teaching tool, but in the research setting is used for training and independent refreshers for scientists and staff.  Organized by discipline into Series, each Collection contains ~15 core videos.  NEW titles (Core, Lab Manual) are designed to be used more as primary resources in lecture (Core) and lab (Lab Manual).

JSTOR - Expanded Access

All the JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, that the university did not have access, have been turned on through June 30, 2020.

Oxford - Removes Seat Limits

Oxford has removed the seat limits on several resources, so that faculty and students can work together in this unusual virtual-only environment.

Project Muse - various university publishers

Participating publishers have made scholarly content temporarily available for free on the Prohect Muse platform. Content comes from a variety of distinguished university presses, societies, and related not-for-profit publishers.

Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). 

ProQuest E-Books

The Kelvin Smith Library has turned on over 181,000 additional e-book titles through June 30, 2020.

SAGE Publishing - Free resources to help you transition to teaching online

To help you navigate the challenge of transitioning to teaching online, SAGE has opened up access to resources to help you set up and manage an online course quickly and successfully, at no charge to you or your students. Resources include textbooks, courseware, journal content related to coronavirus, and tips from instructors.