Research Guides: Scholarship Impact Metrics: Article-Level Metrics

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 139 views this year

Article-level metrics

Article-level metrics aim to disaggregate the impact of an individual article's from the impact of the publication in which it appears. To that result, it is recommended that a combination of traditional citations count with altmetrics score be used instead of evaluating the value of an article based on the impact factor of the journal in which it is published.

Citations Count

Many databases are making available the citations counts for articles. However, these are not the absolute numbers because they are limited to the content indexed by the database.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Collection of IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards from 1988 to the present.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, books, and newsletters published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content is migrating to JSTOR, and the Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides citation data for journals, authors, articles, and reviews, allowing users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

Open Access Sources for Citations Count

Google Scholar
Available as Cited by for Google data and WoS Citations for web of Science citations.

Altmetrics

Altmetric Score
For profit organization that identifies, tracks, and collects article-level metrics on behalf of publishers. They also offer a free bookmarklet that will instantaneously show usage activity for an article, if any data is available.
NEWS Starting with June 2014, Altmetric is tracking citations in policy documents.
Get the Altmetric free bookmarklet
Instantly get article level metrics for any recent paper, for free.

Scholarship Impact Metrics

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

Article-level metrics

Citations Count

Altmetrics

CWRU Libraries Discovery