Ancient Near East and Egypt

Showcasing ancient artistry and modern masterpieces, local legends and global visionaries, our renowned collection of nearly 500,000 works tells the story of the human experience—a story that holds unique meaning for everyone. We welcome diverse perspectives, both within the artwork and among our visitors.

The British Museum is one of the largest and most comprehensive in the world, boasting 2 million years of human history and culture.

The Cleveland Museum of Art was founded in 1913 “for the benefit of all the people forever.” We are proud to be one of the world’s most distinguished comprehensive art museums and one of northeastern Ohio’s principal civic and cultural institutions.

The Egyptian Museum in Cairo exhibits, documents, preserves and promotes artefacts and iconic Ancient Egyptian masterpieces from prehistory to the Graeco-Roman Periods, providing a unique opportunity for visitors to delve into over 5000 years of Egyptian culture, arts, beliefs, traditions and daily life.

The database for the Louvre's collections consists of entries for more than 480,000 works of art that are part of the national collections and registered in the inventories of the museum's eight curatorial departments (Near Eastern Antiquities; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Sculpture; Prints and Drawings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Decorative Arts), those of the History of the Louvre department, or the inventories of the Musée National Eugène-Delacroix, administratively attached to the Louvre since 2004.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. Since its founding in 1870, The Met has always aspired to be more than a treasury of rare and beautiful objects. Every day, art comes alive in the Museum's galleries and through its exhibitions and events, revealing new ideas and unexpected connections across time and across cultures.

The Petrie Museum, housed at the University College London, houses an estimated 80,000 objects, making it one of the greatest collections of Egyptian and Sudanese archaeology in the world. It illustrates life in the Nile Valley from prehistory through the time of the pharaohs, the Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic periods to the Islamic period.

Welcome to the collections of the National Museums in Berlin. The Berlin State Museums, with their 15 collections and four institutes, form a universal museum that has grown over generations for the preservation, research and communication of art and cultural treasures from the entire history of mankind. Its collections include European and non-European art, archeology and ethnology of almost all nations, cultures and times.
This website offers access to the collections with their objects and works regardless of time and place - even if they are not currently on display. Discover the content from different perspectives, from home or on the go with three different offers: Search and find detailed information on objects in RECHERCHE, immerse yourself in the TOPICS of the museums or let TOURS inspire you for your next visit.

Founded in 1911, the Yale Babylonian Collection comprises over 45,000 items, including cuneiform tablets, cylinder seals, and other artifacts, as well as a complete reference library, seminar room, work space for visiting scholars, casts of major monuments, and digitization facilities. It is one of the largest collection of seals and textual material from ancient Mesopotamia in North America and ranks among the leading collections in the world. The Collection aims to preserve, publish, and make available for everyone the artifacts it houses. Through generous support from the Council of Library and Information Resources and the National Endowment of the Humanities, the entire collection is digitized and available online.