Research Guides: CWRU Common Reading: Research

Find Book Reviews

Search the following databases for book reviews:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
New York Review of Books (NYRB) This link opens in a new window
A biweekly magazine on literature, culture, and current affairs published in New York which takes as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity.

A sample of book reviews found by accessing KSL databases.

ASKSL
Live chat. Can be found throughout the KSL website and provided databases. If chat is not working, turn off pop-up blockers.
Research Services Librarians
Research Services Librarians (RSL) is assigned to each academic department supported by the Kelvin Smith Library.