Research Guides: Religious Studies: Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

Religous Studies Databases

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
Indexing from the American Theological Library Association of research on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Contains more than 1.8 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages, including references to articles, journals, essays, book reviews and multimedia. 1949 to the present.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, etc.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450–present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes indexing of historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
An index of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Multi-Subject Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other references in the humanities.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
OhioLINK subscribes to "basic" collection. Kelvin Smith Library has upgraded to the "standard" collection. See the title list.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Precision search interface for the OCLC Worldcat database.

Finding Copies of Articles

If the database you are using doesn't provide the full text for an article directly, remember to take these 3 steps IN SEQUENCE to search for a copy in the Case Libraries system.

IF, AND ONLY IF, these 3 steps don't provide a way to get a copy of the article, see the box below for information on our inter-library loan (ILL) service.

Click the "Full Text Finder" icon

This button will appear in the record in the database you are using when direct access to full text is not provided. Click it to see if our system can automatically locate access to the article through one of our resources.

CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.
CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Conduct a TITLE SEARCH in the Case Libraries online catalog
If there isn't an e-copy of the article available, run a TITLE search with the JOURNAL NAME in the KSL catalog to see if one of our campus libraries has a print copy of the article.

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan Service at KSL

If you've determined that the full text of an article isn't available electronically or in print from the Case Libraries, you can request a copy through our interlibrary loan service.

KSL Interlibrary Loan