Research Guides: Materials Science & Engineering: Materials Properties

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Sources for Materials Properties

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains information on materials processes, properties, performance, and selection.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
Access to binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for a large number of alloy systems.
ASM Medical Materials Database This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed database providing properties and biological response data for the biomedical materials used in cardiovascular, orthopaedic, surgical, neurological, urological, and ENT medical device design.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering and applied sciences disciplines.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to critically evaluated phase diagrams for oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, borides, compound semiconductors and chalcogenides published in collaboration by the American Ceramic Society and NIST.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a SciFinderⁿ account (required)
Platform provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, including multiple material classes, property types, property data, and applications. Includes enhanced data visualization features display interactive crystal structures, data tables, and phase diagrams. Includes Landolt-Börnstein series.

Materials Platform for Data Science (MPDS)
A comprehensive, fully relational and compatible materials database system.

Technical standards also represents a good source for materials properties.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to active ASTM standards and related material from ASTM journals, symposia papers and STPs, manuals, monographs and data series.

Select books@KSL

CRC materials science and engineering handbook by James F. Shackelford, William Alexander
ISBN: 9781482216561
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Materials for Product Design by Charles A. Harper
ISBN: 0071354069
Publication Date: 2001
This handbook provides materials, data, information and guidelines for all those who design, manufacture and use mechanical and electromechanical products, as well as those who develop and market materials useful for these products. The work contains an extensive array of property and performance data, and explains fabrication tradeoffs.
Materials Selection Deskbook by Nicholas P. Cheremisinoff
ISBN: 9780815514008
Publication Date: 1996-12-31
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by John Rumble (Editor)
ISBN: 9781498784542
Publication Date: 2017
Thermophysical Properties of Matter by Y. S. Touloukian
ISBN: 0306670208
Publication Date: 1995