Research Guides: Mathematics & Statistics: Reference and Research for Mathematics

Get Online Help

Ask KSL
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Aug 14, 2025 373 views this year

Databases

ArXiv
Open access to preprints in physics, mathematics, statistics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, economics, and electrical engineering and systems science.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor)

Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
MathSciNet
Searchable index of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides citation data for journals, authors, articles, and reviews, allowing users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.
Web of Science
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
Zentralblatt MATH

Provides reviews and abstracts for published and peer-reviewed articles, books, conference proceedings, and other publication formats from all areas of pure mathematics as well as applications thereof, in particular to natural sciences, computer science, economics, and engineering. Also covers the history and philosophy of mathematics and university education. Continuous coverage from 1868 – present.

Internet Resources (includes government documents)

American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association is the world’s largest community of statisticians, the "Big Tent for Statistics."
Mathematics Genealogy Project (MGP)
The Mathematics Genealogy Project (MGP) is an online reference tool for mathematicians from all over the world. Entries list where and when mathematicians received their degree, the title of their dissertation, the name of their advisor, and the name of all of the students they then advised.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
The Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF) Project was initiated to perform a complete revision of Abramowitz and Stegun’s Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards.

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Contains bibliographic citations and summaries of information products, including technical reports, software packages, and data files. The National Technical Information Service is the central source for the public sale of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.

United States Patent Office
WolframAlpha
Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—
not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

Math Societies

American Mathematical Society
To further the interests of mathematical research, scholarship and education, serving the national and international community through publications, meetings, advocacy and other programs.
Institute for Mathematics and its Applications
The Institute for Mathematics and its Applications connects scientists, engineers, and mathematicians in order to address scientific and technological challenges.
Mathematical Association of America
The Mathematical Association of America is the largest professional society that focuses on mathematics accessible at the undergraduate level
SIAM
SIAM exists to ensure the strongest interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences.
AWM Association of Women in Mathematics
The purpose of the Association for Women in Mathematics is to encourage women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and to promote equal opportunity and the equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences.