Research Guides: Chemistry: Find Substances &amp; Substance Properties

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

Training Webinars

Tips for Searching Substances in SciFinder-n
Recorded webinar from SciFinder-n on searching for substances.

Other Sources

Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
The CSD contains accurate small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal 3D structures determined by x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses. Every structure is enriched with chemical representations, as well as bibliographic, chemical and physical property information.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering and applied sciences disciplines.

Physical Reference Data (NIST)
Collection of physical data from the NIST. Includes atomic properties, atomic/molecular spectroscopic data, condensed matter physics data, and physical constants.
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
NIST Standard Reference Database Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data Reprints
ThermoDex
An online search index for selected thermodynamic and physical property resources developed by the University of Texas.
PubChem
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of the Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative of National Institutes of Health (NIH).

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by William M. Haynes (Editor)
ISBN: 9781498754286
Publication Date: 2016
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology by National Research Council Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 1591244919
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Polymer Handbook by Bandrup, J. et al
The Polymer Handbook is the single most comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data of about 350 properties for over 2,500 polymers. It contains a vast array of data for polymers, monomers and other ancillary topics that are required for experimental and theoretical research and applications of polymers.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by Robert H. Perry; Don W. Green
ISBN: 9780071593137
Publication Date: 2007
The Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion.