Research Guides: Communication Sciences: Find Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Evidence Based Research

Evidence-Based Research at the Harris Library
This pdf guide gives search tips on finding Best Practices or Evidence Based Research using several databases.

Information Created by the Librarians at the Harris Library, MSASS.

Research Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database via the EBSCOhost interface. Features millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and many other allied health disciplines. Contents include full-text journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of databases that provide different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable database covering cognitive science. Contains books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials. Content is provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. Coverage: 1966–present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties.

Finding Copies of Articles

If the database you are using doesn't provide the full text for an article directly, remember to take these 3 steps IN SEQUENCE to search for a copy in the Case Libraries system.

IF, AND ONLY IF, these 3 steps don't provide a way to get a copy of the article, see the box below for information on our inter-library loan (ILL) service.

Click the "Full Text Finder" icon

This button will appear in a record in the database you are using when direct access to the full text is unavailable. Click it to see if our system can automatically locate access to the article through one of our resources.

CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
Search the KSL E-Journal Portal
Use the KSL E-Journal portal to run a search on the TITLE of the JOURNAL to see if we have an electronic copy.
CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
If there isn't an e-copy of the article available, run a TITLE search with the the JOURNAL NAME in the KSL catalog to see if one of our campus libraries has a print copy of the article.

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan Service at KSL

If you've determined that the full text of an article isn't available electronically or in print from the Case Libraries, you can request a copy through our interlibrary loan service.

KSL Interlibrary Loan