by Brian Gray
Last Updated Jan 28, 2022
447 views this year
Searching for Reference Collections
University-level libraries offer a wide variety of topical and subject specific reference collections. Many of the entries for terminology, key concepts and topics, people, ...etc. in these works include multi-page essays and bibliographies. Make sure to take full advantage of these collections, both in print and online.
Types of reference works include:
directories (for people and associations)
historical atlases and almanacs
Use the names of reference types in keyword searches to find the sections of Case Libraries reference collection that address your topic.
Online catalogkeyword search example = (“encyclopedia/dictionary/handbook”) + (research topic keywords)
If the reference source is not available electronically, make sure to note the location of the print reference source in the catalog entry. It will be one of these three designations:
Core Reference (first floor, Northeast shelves)
Ready Reference (first floor, near the reference desk)
"Check Shelves" (*this means that the material is shelved on the third floor with the rest of our books and monographs)
"This report is prepared by the Administration on Aging (AoA), part of the Administration for Community Living, an operating division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services....Principal sources of data are the U.S. Census Bureau, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics...This report includes data on the American population age 65 and older unless otherwise noted. The phrases “older adults” and “older persons” refer to that population..." ~ From the website for the Administration on Aging & Administration on Community Living
"The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people of all ages with disabilities should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities.
By funding services and supports provided primarily by networks of community-based organizations, and with investments in research, education, and innovation, ACL helps make this principle a reality for millions of Americans." ~ From the ACL website