Skip to main content

Mastering Research @ KSL: KSL Information Literacy Services for Faculty & Instructors

KSL's collection of online self-paced learning modules on how to conduct research using library resources and services.

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Research Services Librarians

You can contact a librarian by phone, email, chat, or in-person to assist in all your needs. See our Ask A Librarian services page.

Information Literacy

Supporting the development of information literacy skills in CWRU's undergraduate and graduate students is a strategic goal of Research Services at the Kelvin Smith Library.


RSLs are very happy to provide support as you prepare for an upcoming course, or during the semester as needs arise.  KSL's Research Services Librarians can address the specific information literacy needs for courses, assignments, and/or students.

 

The first step is to contact your subject-specific Research Services Librarian (RSL) and provide information they can use to best meet specific needs.  This information can include:

  • syllabus
  • major topic/focus of course
  • course information literacy objective(s)
  • how you want to student to use the library
  • existing assignments and projects
  • past challenges experienced by students or observed by you

 

These communications are best to have during the class planning stage prior to the beginning of the semester, but RSLs can assist with student information literacy skills development and needs any time during the semester.  Please see additional services information below for more details.

Contact your RSL for a conversation. Librarians will help you find the best RSL for partnership and consultation to prepare and incorporate library instruction (information literacy) into your plans.

Expertise & Resources

 

Information Literacy Instruction

RSLs can conduct a customized session either in your classroom or in KSL that

  • provides an overview of KSL and the resources available
  • develops information literacy skills or provides specialized training (patent searching, copyright, etc.)
  • teaches citation management (RefWorks)
  • focuses on specific resources related to the course, assignment, topic, etc. 
  • varies in teaching style (e.g. flipped classroom, active learning, lecture, etc.)
  • includes a pre- and/or post-assessment of information literacy  

The length of the session and number of sessions may vary depending on your preferences and needs . Students may schedule individual research consultations after the session. 

Scheduling: preferably at the beginning of the semester or at least two weeks in advance (*Note: KSL's classrooms and RSLs' schedules book quickly.)

 

Credo Information Literacy Modules

KSL has invested in the Credo Information Literacy Course Modules that

  • consist of 12 unique modules that include videos, interactive tutorials, and quizzes
  • may be used in their entirety or individually 
  • can be embedded in websites, used in Canvas and Research Guides, or accessed by a web link 

Library Databases with Self-Paced & Guided Research Strategy Tools

Several library databases provide guided tutorials and tools to lead a researcher through solid research processes.

 

Instructor Consultation & Collaboration

RSLs can consult and collaborate on 

  • integrating information literacy in courses 
  • developing research or information literacy assignments, lectures, assessments, projects, etc. 
  • integrating information literacy and library resources into existing assignments, assessments, projects, etc. 
  • using library resources to support assignments and student research
  • developing assignments or assessments to practice or reinforce information literacy skills
  • customizing information literacy instruction to meet course objectives and student needs

Scheduling: anytime (but preferably before the semester begins)

 

Research Guides

RSLs can prepare customized, online research guides that:

  • provide strong starting points for students on their research
  • teach, supplement, or complement learning and research
  • provide subject-specific research resources 
  • provide specific research resources for a course or an assignment 

Faculty can even co-author the guides, giving you the ability to revise as needed from one semester to another. 

See below for some examples of guides.

Scheduling: anytime (but preferably before the semester begins)

 

Student Consultations

RSLs can consult with students individually or in groups about research strategies and recommended resources for a paper or project. Students can schedule appointments directly with the RSLs, or you can arrange for your RSL to come to your classroom to meet with them. You may also assign your students to interact with their RSL by email, online chat, text, in-person, or other methods.

 

KSL Tours

RSLs can give your students a tour of the library during class session or as a special event that

  • provides a general overview of KSL
  • focuses on resources specific to a course or a specific location in KSL (e. g. Special Collections or the Freedman Center)

They can also develop a self-guided tour for students to complete as an assignment (i.e. tasks designed to show completion)

Scheduling: Anytime. (A two-week notice is appreciated.)