Skip to main content

Engineering Literature Review: Literature Search

This guide provides an overview of the engineering literature review and its place in a research project, thesis, or dissertation.

Ask A Librarian

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Search for books and ebooks

Search for books and ebooks using:

Search for journals and ejournals

Search for articles

Use periodical indexes and databases to locate articles. When in doubt which index or database to use, select an index that covers your subject area, as listed here:

When selecting appropriate databases for your topic, it is also important to know what kind of information you need: peer-reviewed articles, news, data, statistics, images, etc. Read index description, and select accordingly.

Once you have selected an index, proceed by entering keywords in the search box. Add synonyms, equivalent terms or variants. Combine these terms using Boolean operators (and, or, not), truncation, or wild card to best represent your topic.

The search will retrieve a list of citations to articles. 

Access to articles

Some articles may be readily available fulltext from the index you searched in.  For the articles not readily available in fulltext, check for availability in other indexes by clicking on the  button.

To find articles that are still not available full text, you will need to note the full citation information (journal title, date of publication, article title, author, volume, issue, page number) and try one of the following: