In the time since the second edition ofThe ACS Style Guidewas published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision ofThe ACS Style Guidethoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information,The ACS Style Guide'sThird Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics—from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934,Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbookhas equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition ofPerry's Chemcial Engineering Handbookfeatures: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols • Physical and Chemical Data • Mathematics • Thermodynamics • Heat and Mass Transfer • Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics • Process Control • Process Economics • Transport and Storage of Fluids • Heat Transfer Equipment • Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying • Distillation • Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design • Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment • Adsorption and Ion Exchange • Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment • Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment • Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment • Size Reduction and Size Enlargement • Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids • Alternative Separation Processes • And Many Other Topics!
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 96th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsis an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 96th edition of the Handbook includes 18 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. A new series highlighting the achievements of some of the major historical figures in chemistry and physics was initiated with the 94th edition. This series is continued with this edition, which is focused on Lord Kelvin, Michael Faraday, John Dalton, and Robert Boyle. This series, which provides biographical information, a list of major achievements, and notable quotations attributed to each of the renowned chemists and physicists, will be continued in succeeding editions. Each edition will feature two chemists and two physicists. The 96th edition now includes a complimentary eBook with purchase of the print version. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Section 1: Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors Descriptive Terms for Solubility Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Stationary Phases for Porous Layer Open Tubular Columns Coolants for Cryotrapping Instability of HPLC Solvents Chlorine-Bromine Combination Isotope Intensities Section 16: Health and Safety Information Materials Compatible with and Resistant to 72 Percent Perchloric Acid Relative Dose Ranges from Ionizing Radiation Updated and Expanded Tables Section 6: Fluid Properties Sublimation Pressure of Solids Vapor Pressure of Fluids at Temperatures Below 300 K Section 7: Biochemistry Structure and Functions of Some Common Drugs Section 9: Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy Bond Dissociation Energies Section 11: Nuclear and Particle Physics Summary Tables of Particle Properties Table of the Isotopes Section 14: Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics Major World Earthquakes Atmospheric Concentration of Carbon Dioxide, 1958-2014 Global Temperature Trend, 1880-2014 Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Dependence of Boiling Point on Pressure Section 16: Health and Safety Information Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants
The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. * Set begins publication in January 2004 * Over 1000 articles * More than 600 new or updated articles * 27 volumes Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992