Streaming video service, featuring many of the educational and documentary films faculty use frequently in classes. It has a wealth of content and many subjects of interest to CWRU programs. Faculty can embed films into their Canvas courses, show them in class, watch them at home, and create playlists of clips. Kanopy's catalog is the most unique of its kind, with many exclusively available collections. Student groups and others on campus can show these movies for events as long as no admission fee is charged.
"Karamu: 100 Years in the House chronicles the incredible story of the oldest African-American performing arts theater in America, the Karamu House in the historic Fairfax neighborhood of Cleveland. This documentary highlights the key players, productions and claims to fame over the 100-year history of Karamu House. Hosted by Karamu House alum and "Grey's Anatomy" cast member James Pickens Jr., a Cleveland native, this program illustrates the significance of this African-American cultural landmark. Named for a Swahili word meaning "a place of joyful gatherings," Karamu House was established as a community cultural center and was the first interracial theater in the U.S.--and it continues to be a respected training ground for performers and directors."--Website.
Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides access to online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
A scholarly resource of recordings by American composers and artists, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings Inc. (CRI), and other important labels. First time Case users must authenticate.
The Center for Policy Studies was officially established in July 1998 by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Although based in the College, the Center endeavors to stimulate greater interest in policy issues at CWRU, to encourage the many policy scholars across the University to interact with each other and with the larger public beyond the campus, and to increase the local and national visibility of policy studies at CWRU.
Gaywaves, the original gay voice of America’s North Coast with the latest news and views, information, and music for the proud and out lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, intersex, multi-cultural, and multi-racial community of Gayer Cleveland. ~ from the WRUW website
The seminar, 'The Flora Stone Mather Oral History Project', took place in the fall semester of 2009, and offered a discussion-based exploration of the literature on the history of women’s education in America. It will also give students an opportunity to contribute to that literature by conducting interviews for the Flora Stone Mather Oral History Project. Flora Stone Mather College for Women (1888-1972), a coordinate college to Adelbert College for men at Western Reserve, University represented a singular experience in the history of education for women. As interviewers of Mather College alumnae, students will be instructed in the basic principles and skills of oral history, and engage in the creation of primary sources materials—tapes and transcriptions—essential for historical documentation. They will then apply these materials to two projects: a monograph on the history of the coordinate college, and a comparative study relating that history to the present-day educational experiences for women at Case Western Reserve University. Also included are a number of video productions written and produced by Gladys Haddad.
Collection of materials of the United Nations' "Commission of Experts Established Pursuant to Security Council Resolution 780," including material on the database project from the International Human Rights Law Institute at DePaul University. The Commission was established to investigate and document human rights abuses in Yugoslavia in 1991. The Commmisson's work ultimately led to the establishment of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia in 1996. The physical collection, a gift from M. Cherif Bassiouni (2006), is housed in Special Collections, Law Library, Case School of Law, 11075 East Blvd., Cleveland, Ohio 44106.
The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areasâ€”from Architecture to Zoology. The intuitive, visual interface invites exploration of the discipline-specific Commons by mousing over the color wheel.