Research Guides: Government Documents: Home

Research Services Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Mark A. Eddy
Research Services Librarian
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Psychology, Communication Science
Room 201-J
Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
E-mail: mark.eddy@case.edu
Phone: 216-368-5457

Subjects: Political Science, Psychological Sciences, Religious Studies, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Sociology

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

About Government Documents@KSL

The Kelvin Smith Library of Case Western Reserve University has been a congressionally designated federal depository for United States Government publications since 1913. The library selects documents based on the needs of the university community and the congressional district, and presently receives approximately 50% of all publications available through the Federal Depository Library Program.

The collection is comprised of many types of publications: books, periodicals, technical reports, pamphlets, maps, and a number of electronic sources. The collection is especially strong in law and legislation, foreign affairs, population and demographics, labor and labor history, geology, aerospace, and research and development reports.

Government Documents are displayed in the Case Catalog, the library's online catalog, for materials from 1976 forward. The collection is organized by the Superintendent of Document's Classification System (Su Doc system). The collection also consists of 7.5 minute topographic maps produced by the U. S. Geological Survey.

Location: 2nd floor Kelvin Smith Library

Telephone: 216-368-6511

Reference hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 5:00

Other hours by appointment

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all print and digital holdings of CWRU and affiliated libraries.

Quick Links

U.S. Government Publishing Office
Search and browse thousands of federal documents, from 50 different collections. Includes Congressional hearings, agency reports, Presidential papers, and much more.
Census.gov
Access data from the census. There are also a large number of data visualizations.

USA.gov (formerly FirstGov.gov) This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. Federal government, local, and foreign nations around the world.

Data.gov
High value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government
IRS.gov
Get answers to your tax questions, find and download forms and instructions, get your refund status and more!

Databases

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
GPO Access (Congressional Record, Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources produced by the Federal Government including congressional bills, laws, rules and procedures, calendars, code of federal regulations, federal register, weekly compilation of presidential documents, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, arguments, docket.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly-researched compilations of digital, full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of US public laws.
Proquest Congressional, including the U.S. Serial Set This link opens in a new window
The Proquest Congressional interface includes an online version of the CIS indexes of legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward) and congressional materials. The ongoing digitization of the entire U.S. Serial Set and American State Papers is also presented through the Lexis Congressional interface.
Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Covering 1936-2014, Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, facilitating research in federal agencies and executive branch rulemaking. Provides access to all notices, proposed rules and final rules directly linked to specific Public Laws. Also provides regulatory histories associated with specific C.F.R. parts or sections, or U.S. Code citations.

Federal Government Resources

Executive Branch

Official Executive Branch Web Sites
List of governmental agencies and links to their webpages. Provided by the Library of Congress.
The Whitehouse
Materials relating directly to the Presidency.

Congressional Branch

Congress
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress.
Government Accountability Office
Provides oversight for Congress, including investigations on government spending.
Congressional Budget Office
Produces nonpartisan budget and economic analyses for use by Congress.
CQ Press
Congressional Quarterly's weekly magazine on legislative affairs.
National Journal Hotline
News from a campaign and election perspective, includes opinion polls.

Judiciary Branch

United States Courts
Information from and about the Judicial Branch of the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.
Oyez
Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project at Chicago-Kent, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.

Ohio

State of Ohio
Find forms and other information related to the State of Ohio.
State of Ohio Legislative Information
The Ohio State Legislature - Find current bill texts, information on your representative and the Ohio Revised Code.
Supreme Court of Ohio
The Ohio Supreme Court - Find court opinions, case information, and more.

Cuyahoga County

Cuyahoga County Government
Allows users to search for various information including GIS data, property deeds, tax information, and voter registration.
County Property Search
earch property in Cuyahoga County by owner name or address.
County Clerk of Courts
Cuyahoga County Clerk of Courts - access to court dockets and other forms.

Cleveland

City of Cleveland
The city's homepage.
City of Cleveland Agencies
List of Agencies in Cleveland and links to their webpages.
Cleveland City Council
The legislative branch of the Cleveland City government. Includes the city charter and a record of recent actions by the City Council.

International

United nations
The United Nations homepage - Contains a large amount of documents available to the public.
Country Studies
In-depth studies of 101 different countries published between 1998 and 1998. Information presented may be out of date, but often a detailed history is presented.