Skip to Main Content

Library Resources Lab: 2021

Annual Kelvin Smith Library event highlighting multiple science and engineering resources.

Library Resources Lab 2021

2021 Library Resources Lab

Learn more about specialized resources for your research in:
Sciences, Engineering & Chemistry | Health & Medicine | Business, Industry & Markets

 

The 2021 Library Resources Lab is organized this year as a series of in-person and online sessions featuring research sources from top publishers, with demonstrations in quick 45-minute sessions that also include time for Q&A with each presenter. Maximize research time by learning more about databases and journals on science, engineering & chemistry, health & medicine, and in business, industry & market research from publishers and KSL research subject specialists. PubMed life sciences & biomedical literature is featured by the Cleveland Health Sciences Library.

 

All participants qualify for gift cards prizes, and the KSL sessions will feature light snacks & beverages.

To register for any or all sessions, please visit Campus Groups or use the direct link for each session listed below.

 

September 28, 12:00–12:45PM | In-person & online

Knovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering and applied sciences disciplines.

ScienceDirect database provides access to scientific and medical publications published by Elsevier.

Presenters: Cathryn Cable, Customer Consultant & Steve Quinlivan, Senior Account Manager

 

 

September 29, 12:00–12:45PM | In-person & online

IEEE Xplore database is a collection of journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and engineering standards related to electrical, computer, and system engineering and published by IEEE.

Presenter: Ruth Wolfish, IEEE Client Services Manager

Slides are available here.
 
 

September 30, 12:00–12:45PM | In-person & online

Cleveland Health Sciences Library serves the research and educational needs of the School of Dental Medicine, School of Nursing, School of Medicine, and Affiliate Hospitals, Centers, and Institutes.

PubMed - search engine and index to citations and abstracts for life sciences and biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database.

Presenter: Vivian McCallum, User Services Librarian, Cleveland Health Sciences library

 
 

October 6, 12:00–12:45PM | Online

Entrepreneurship - Whether you are studying an industry or following a company and a product, it's also imperative to study the industry and related news, plus market news. Using targeted databases will highlight that 360° view for the best research approach. Bonus: quick statistics & current industry news easily informs you by company or industry–in one resource. Kelvin Smith Library has the databases to fill in those elements of your research.

Presenter: Karen Oye, Research Services Librarian, Business, Kelvin Smith Library

 

 

October 12, 12:00–12:45PM | Online

SpringerLink database is a collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works published by Springer Nature.

Springer Nature Experiments provides access to tens of thousands of protocols and methods in the life and chemical sciences.

Presenter: Dennis Gaynor, Account Development manager

 

 

October 20, 9:30–10:30AM | Online

SciFinder-n database provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

Presenter: Darryl French, CAS Trainer/Customer Success Specialist

Register for online event: https://cglink.me/2cS/r1193909

 

 

October 27, 12:00–12:45PM | Online

Wiley Online Library is a collections of online journals, books, and research resources published by Wiley, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that provide different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. 

Presenter: Mark Rothenbuhler, Wiley Senior Account Manager

Register for online event: https://cglink.me/2cS/r1207054