Research Guides: Modern Languages and Literatures: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Modern Languages and Literatures Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find recommended resources for research around languages, literatures, and cultures. There is a page dedicated to each language currently taught within Case Western Reserve University’s Department of Modern Languages and Literatures - Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

Quick Start: Library Research Tools

CWRU eJournal Portal
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

KSL Research Databases
An A-Z list of available databases & related resources.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities.
Cambridge Companions
Online access to authoritative guides written by experts offering introductions to major writers, authors, philosophers, topics, and periods
Ethnologue
Catalog of the 7,000+ known living languages of the world with profiles for every language including estimated number of speakers worldwide, endangerment status, maps, language families, language classification, and dialects.
Humanities International Complete
Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other references in the humanities.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor)
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business
LDC Catalog
Includes a collection of datasets for research in linguistics, natural language processing, speech technology, and machine learning.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Lists periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics

Modern Languages and Literatures

Research Services Librarian

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

Welcome

Quick Start: Library Research Tools

General Databases