Shakespeare

Compiled by one of the best-known authorities on Shakespeare's works, this online-only dictionary offers up-to-date information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages. It includes entries on the plays and the major characters, on Shakespeare's life and his contemporaries, on actors from Richard Burbage to Judi Dench, on theatres and directors, plus comments on Shakespeare by later authors such as Jane Austen, Dr Johnson, and Bernard Levin.

KSL Stacks; More than 200 articles, most accompanied by vivid illustrations, combine rich historical detail with informative, insightful descriptions on the form and function of obscure and everyday items found in Shakespeare's works.

An essential two-volume resource for the study of this literary giant, Critical Companion to William Shakespeare contains more than 3,000 engaging entries, making it an authoritative reference to virtually everything one needs to know about the Bard and his works.

This concise, illustrated dictionary of Shakespeariana, compiled by one of the best-known authorities on his works, contains alphabetically arranged entries guiding the reader to a wealth of information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages. Stanley Wells provides clear entries on: Shakespeare's life and times, the sources and early publication of his works, their performance history on stage and screen, actors such as Edmund Kean and Kenneth Branagh, and writers especially associated with them, operas and other musical works deriving from them, theaters, editions, international Shakespeare organizations--in short, on all aspects of Shakespearean interest. The volume is complemented by a series of striking pronouncements about Shakespeare over the ages from Jane Austen to Bernard Levin, tables providing interesting facts about the plays, famous documents bearing Shakespeare's signature, and a useful guide to further reading.

KSL Stacks: From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favorite figures of speech to the staging ofOthelloin South Africa,The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare offers the most comprehensive coverage available on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.

From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favorite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare offers the most comprehensive coverage available on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.

KSL Stacks; This encyclopedia-style dicitonary explores early modern social life, legal thought, and the interactions within Shakespearean drama.

KSL Stacks

KSL Reference. Though he wrote 400 years ago, Shakespeare is still very much alive today. This vast encyclopedia attests to that fact through hundreds of entries chronicling the presence of the Bard in contemporary popular culture, including radio, film, television, and other media to which his works have been adapted. Each section begins with an overview essay, followed by entries on individual plays, including stage histories and biographies of actors and directors. Thus the encyclopedia covers the full range of Shakespeare's presence in popular culture, with an emphasis on the past hundred years. It also offers a selected, general bibliography and an extensive index. Students will find this a handy reference for comparing Shakespeare's plays to modern adaptations of them, while general readers will treasure it as a guide to Shakespeare's enduring legacy.