Ask A Librarian
VPN Reminder
IMPORTANT NOTE about access to library resources:
Many of the library resources require that your computer be authenticated on the Case network. This means that if your computer is not connected directly to the Case network via ethernet cable, you must authenticate using VPN. If you are off campus or using Case's wireless, you must have VPN installed, running, and logged in on your computer.
The library homepage has a network connection status indicator at the top of the right column. A green light means your campus network connection is active, or a red light means you need to authenticate with VPN. The status indicator looks like this:

More information about using VPN for wireless or remote access can be found on the Case Help site for VPN.
Voice from Chemistry Librarian
- November, 2009.
- Library session on SciFinder on the Web, Nov 6, 3-4pm at KSL LL06
- Advanced Searching Techniques for SciFinder on the Web will be on CaseLearn in Spring of 2010
General Reference Collection
- CRC Handbook of chemistry and physics, 89th ed.
Contains tables of physical, chemical, and other scientific data - Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary-in print
Information on chemical Name, Synonyms, CAS Registry Number, Formula, Physical Properties, Source or Occurrence, Grade, Hazard, Use, and Derivation. - Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary-online
Access full text on line through Knovel - Combined Chemical Dictionary
The chemical database containing over 500,000 substances including descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their ass - The Merck Index-in print
This encyclopedia contains over 10,000 monographs on single substances and related groups of compounds cover chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. - The Merck Index - online
A structure-searchable encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, & biologicals
Same information found in The Merck Index 14th ed. book. First time user must register. - Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology-online
presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. - CHEMnetBASE
a wealth of chemical reference information from Chapman & Hall/CRC
Special Reference Collection
- e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis contains a database of around 70,000 reactions & around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. & allows sophisticated full text search
- Knovel online technical reference collection
- Organic Syntheses
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. - Organic Synthese Search by volume (same as print), structure, and keyword
Subject Guide |
Shu GuoScience Librarian
Kelvin Smith Library 201-H
Phone: (216) 368-5310
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy, Geological Sciences
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait