Research Guides: Chemistry: Reactions, Synthesis &amp; Retrosynthesis

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

Training Webinar

Tips for Reaction Searching in SciFinder-n
Recorded webinar from SciFinder-n on how to search for reactions.

Other Sources

ChemSpider Synthetic Pages
Free reaction database, searchable by structure or key word. Reactions are submitted by researchers, so there may be technical notes unavailable in other databases.

Recorded Webinar

Other Sources

Stereoselective Synthesis by G. Helmchen; R.W. Hoffmann; J. Mulzer
Call Number: QD481.S76 1996
ISBN: 3131061243
Publication Date: 1996
Stereoselective Synthesis provides a six-volume set of almost 7000 pages that evaluates the entire literature of stereoselective chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis by Leo A. Paquette (Editor)
Call Number: QD77.E53 1995
ISBN: 0471936235
Publication Date: 1995
This essential reference contains an authoritative and systematic description of the use of all reagents in organic chemistry.
Organic syntheses
An annual publication of satisfactory methods for the preparation of organic chemicals
Synthetic Methods of Organometallic and Inorganic Chemistry by Wolfgang A. Herrmann (Editor)
Call Number: QD411.S96 1996
ISBN: 3131030216
Publication Date: 1996
Inorganic syntheses
Call Number: QD151.A1I5
Publication Date: 1939 -

Organic Syntheses database
Free online access to the Organic Syntheses Reaction Guide. It requires the installation of the free ChemDraw Net plugin from CambridgeSoft,
Synthesis Reviews
Free database of approx. 36,721 English language review articles (from journals and books) of interest to synthetic organic chemists. It is sponsored by Georg Thieme Verlag and is provided as a service to the synthetic community.

Training Webinar

Retrosynthesis Planning in SciFinder-n
Recorded webinar from SciFinder-n on how to see and evaluate full synthetic pathways, source evidence, estimated yields, pricing, and supplier availability.