Research Guides: African American Studies Research Guide: Home

Research Services Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Mark A. Eddy
Research Services Librarian
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Psychology, Communication Science
Room 201-J
Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
E-mail: mark.eddy@case.edu
Phone: 216-368-5457

Subjects: Political Science, Psychological Sciences, Religious Studies, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Sociology

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Welcome!

Welcome to the Kelvin Smith Library African American Studies Research Guide! Here you will find links and collections for reference works, primary and secondary sources, scholarly journals, news, data and other collections available from Case Libraries, as well as links to professional associations, CWRU related curricula, and events calendars.

Please feel free also to contact our KSL Research Services Librarians if you have any questions about the resources in this guide, or about your research project. We are happy to assist with your research or teaching endeavors!

KSL Research Services Librarians Contact Information

Featured Books

Featured Journals & Periodicals

Journal of Black Studies
For the last quarter century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the scholarship in the field, the Journal of Black Studies explores the most vital issues facing African American and Black populations. ~ JSTOR description
Du Bois Review: Social Science Research on Race
This peer-reviewed journal is devoted to research and criticism on race in the social sciences. It provides a forum for discussion and increased understanding of race and society from a range of disciplines, including but not limited to economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, law, communications, public policy, psychology, and history. Each issue contains an editorial overview, invited lead essays, original research papers, and review essays covering current books, controversies, and research threads. Cambridge UP description
The Journal of African American History
Founded in 1916 as The Journal of Negro History by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, The Journal of African American History (JAAH) is the leading scholarly publication in the field of African American history. Published by the University of Chicago Press on behalf of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), the JAAH publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience. ~ University of Chicago Press description
Journal of Africana Religions
The Journal of Africana Religions is an interdisciplinary journal encompassing history, anthropology, Africana studies, gender studies, ethnic studies, religious studies, and other allied disciplines, the journal embraces a variety of humanistic and social scientific methodologies in understanding the social, political, and cultural meanings and functions of Africana religions. ~ Penn State UP description
African American Review
African American Review is a scholarly aggregation of insightful essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews. ~ Johns Hopkins University Press description
Callaloo
Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. ~ Johns Hopkins UP description

News & Media

Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
The Call & Post was started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan and merged with the Cleveland Post in 1929 to become the Call & Post Newspaper. With the influence of editor & publisher W.O. Walker in 1932, the Call & Post established itself as the most influential voice for African Americans in all metropolitan regions throughout Ohio.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
A leading voice of the African American community, the newspaper provides over six decades of historic coverage.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a leading source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Features full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1956–present, providing access to frequently overlooked perspectives. English and Spanish language search options available.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers and other news sources.
New York Times (Current access at publisher's site) This link opens in a new window
With a Kelvin Smith Library-provided NYTimes.com pass, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com, and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within the CWRU network, a NYTimes.com pass can be used from any location until expiration documented upon enrollment confirmation (typically one year).

Organizations

National Association of African American Studies
The National Association of African American Studies and Affiliates (NAAAS) was founded in 1992 on the campus of Virginia State University in Petersburg, Virginia. ~ from NAAAS website
The Association of Black Sociologists
Founded in 1970, the Association of Black Sociologists emerged out of a series of conversations in the Caucus of Black Sociologists about how to best advocate for the interests of black sociologists and black people domestically and globally. Since its inception, the organization has supported and cultivated scores of black social scientists and black community activists in service of intellectual and social organizing for the betterment of black folks’ lives at all intersections. ~ from ABS website
National Council for Black Studies
NCBS was established in 1975 by African American scholars who recognized the need to formalize the study of the African World experience, as well as expand and strengthen academic units and community programs devoted to this endeavor. ~ from NCBS website
Association for the Study of African American Life & History
The mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community. ~ from ASALH website