ENGL 300 - Early British Literature: Home

Works in English from 1474-1700. EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere. Titles range from the first book printed in English by William Caxton through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare to the tumult of the English Civil War.

Texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830 from Aphra Behn's "The Emperor of the Moon" to Countess Mary Sidney's "The Doleful Lay of the Fair Clorinda".

Digital collection of over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Primarily in English - also includes other languages.

An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content is migrating to JSTOR, and the Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.

Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. This long-standing series profiles novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. In addition to searching by author, entries can be searched by topic, by work, or even by critic's name.

An index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

Provides access to the Encyclopedia of the Novel, Encyclopedia of Old, Middle, and Medieval English Literature, and encyclopedias of Shakespeare, Renaissance, 16th- and 17th-Century English Literature and Irish Literature.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

The ESTC is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed before 1801. It contains catalogue entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Also included is material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic, as well as any book falsely claiming to have been printed in London.

The ESTC through the British Library is currently unavailable, so the URL provided is for a temporary version derived from a 2014 archive.