Art History and Art

Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.

Since 1898, the American Art Directory has been identifying key characteristics for thousands of art institutions in the U.S. and Canada. This comprehensive resource provides important information on museums, art organizations, art schools, libraries, art editors and critics, scholarships, fellowships, exhibitions and state art councils. In addition, you'll find funding sources, booking agencies and much more.

Art Catalogue Index (A.C.I.) aims to provide a comprehensive list of all the catalogues raisonnés and reviews on artists born between 1780 and the postwar period. This first edition is focused on the so-called 'modern' period. It starts with the birth of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, in 1780 in Montauban, who competed for the Prix de Rome in 1800 with his contemporaries; he therefore both witnessed and took part in this turning point in time which opened the gates of the 'modern' period, and which led up to today and contemporary art. Published with BFAS, Geneva, and Thierry Meaudre, Paris. English text.

The most exhaustive work in the field, the completely revised 5th edition of "Contemporary Artists provides detailed personal and professional information on 850 artists--both established masters and emerging figures on the international scene. Illustrated with approximately 600 black-and-white photographs of the artists and their works.

The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, the Bible and other sacred texts, literature, and popular culture in works of art through various periods, cultures, and genres. Art historians now tend to study narrative themes depicted in works of art in relation to such subjects as gender and sexuality, politics and power, ownership and possession, ceremony and ritual, legitimacy and authority. The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography reflects these new approaches by ordering the themes of various iconographic sources in particular biblical, mythological, and literary texts according to these new emphases. Each handsomely illustrated entry discusses the major relevant iconographic narratives and the historical background of each theme. A list of selected works of art that accompanies each essay guides the reader to examples in art that depict the theme under discussion. Each essay includes a list of suggested reading that provides further sources of information about the themes. A general bibliography of reference books is listed separately and can be used in association with all the essays. With 119 entries written by 42 experts, the Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography is an important reference work for art historians, students of art history, artists, and the general reader.

First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

In two volumes, the International Dictionary of Architecture covers the history of architecture from ancient Greece to the present. More than 400 critics of Western architecture have contributed to this text.

Quickly locate artists, critics, curators, administrators, librarians, historians, collectors, conservators, educators and dealers. Containing over 11,000 entries-nearly 1,000 new listings-Who's Who in American Art includes entrants' dates and places of birth; education and training; commissions and exhibitions; museums holding their work; professional positions; awards; books and articles by and about them; the media in which they work; their dealers and representatives; and their mailing addresses. Entrants are listed alphabetically by name, and again in a separate Geographical Index. Plus, a Professional Classifications Index identifies all entrants within more than 50 categories-from Administrator to Mosaic Artist to Writer. A special Necrology Index lists all previous entrants who have died between 1953 and 2009. Librarians, artists, and museum and education professionals will find this volume indispensable.

For more information including the introduction, a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample pages and more, visit the Encyclope dia of 20th Century Architecture website. Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.

African-American architects have been designing and building houses and public buildings since 1865. Although many of these structures survive today, the architects themselves are virtually unknown. This unique reference work brings their lives and work to light for the first time. Written by 100 experts ranging from architectural historians to archivists, this book contains 160 biographical, A-Z entries on African-American architects from the era of Emancipation to the end of World War II. Articles provide biographical facts about each architect, and commentary on his or her work. Practical and accessible, this reference is complemented by over 200 photographs and includes an appendix containing a list of buildings by geographic location and by architect.

The Latest Advances in Universal Design Thoroughly updated and packed with examples of global standards and design solutions, Universal Design Handbook, Second Edition, covers the full scope of universal design, discussing how to develop media, products, buildings, and infrastructure for the widest range of human needs, preferences, and functioning. This pioneering work brings together a rich variety of expertise from around the world to discuss the extraordinary growth and changes in the universal design movement. The book provides an overview of universal design premises and perspectives, and performance-based design criteria and guidelines. Public and private spaces, products, and technologies are covered, and current and emerging research and teaching are explored. This unique resource includes analyses of historical and contemporary universal design issues from seven different countries, as well as a look at future trends. Students, advocates, policy makers, and design practitioners will get a theoretical grounding in and practical reference on the physical and social roles of design from this definitive volume. UNIVERSAL DESIGN HANDBOOK, SECOND EDITION, COVERS: United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities U.S. accessibility codes and standards, including the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Life safety standards and guidelines Universal design implementations in Norway, Japan, France, Germany, Brazil, Italy and the Old City of Jerusalem Planning ADA implementation in public educational institutions Urban scale and mass transportation universal design Designing inclusive experiences, including outdoor play settings Office and workspace design Universal design in home building and remodeling Products and technologies, including autos, web access, media, and digital content Universal design research initiatives, education, and performance assessments

Beginning with the homes of the first European settlers to the North American colonies, and concluding with the latest trends in construction and design of houses and apartments in the United States, Homes through American History is a four-volume set intended for a general audience. From tenements to McMansions, from wattle-and-daub construction in early New England to sustainable materials for green housing, these books provide a rich historical tour through housing in the United States. Divided into 10 historical periods, the series explores a variety of home types and issues within a social, historical, and political context. For use in history, social studies, and literature classes, Homes through American History identifies ; A brief historical overview of the era, in order provide context to the discussion of homes and dwellings. ; Styles of domestic architecture around the country. ; Building material and manufacturing. ; Home layout and design. ; Furniture and decoration. ; Landscaping and outbuildings.

For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of Sculpture website. With an international scope, this fully illustrated reference spans the entire history of sculpture, from prehistoric times to the twenty-first century. While devoting significant attention to individual artists and their works, the Encyclopedia also explores sculpture from the vantage points of history, criticism, theory, aesthetics, production, training, and presentation, making this the most comprehensive, in-depth source on the subject ever published.

Names on Terra Sigillata, the product of 40 years of study, records over 5,000 names and some 300,000 stamps and signatures on Terra Sigillata (samian ware) manufactured in the 1st to the 3rd centuries AD in Gaul, the German provinces and Britain. To be published in 10 volumes, the work has been supported by the British Academy and the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the University of Leeds and the University of Reading, and the Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum.

Dopo il ciclopico lavoro classificatorio di A.D. Trendall e di A. Cambitoglou, la ceramica italiota e siceliota e stata oggetto di una notevole mole di studi, i quali ne hanno affrontato i piu vari aspetti, da quello tecnico a quello quantitativo, da quello cronologico a quello iconografico e iconologico, mentre nuova attenzione e stata prestata ai problemi delle provenienze e dei contesti di rinvenimento, del commercio internazionale e del collezionismo. In questo quadro la ricerca si e sempre piu estesa dal campo dell'archeologia a quelli della storia dell'arte, della filologia, dell'antropologia, del pensiero e della religione, nello sforzo volto alla maggiore storicizzazione possibile delle officine artigiane dislocate in Magna Grecia e in Sicilia tra l'eta classica e la prima eta ellenistica. Venendo incontro all'esigenza di fornire a specialisti e studenti universitari una sintesi aggiornata e critica su questa produzione, un'equipe di archeologi dell'Universita di Bari, da tempo impegnata nel settore degli studi ceramici, riesamina i vasi a figure rosse dell'Italia meridionale secondo un organico approccio multidirezionale.

An expansive two volume set that covers 450 worldwide cultural icons, World Cultural Leaders of the Twentieth Century includes each person's works, achievements, and professional careers in a thorough essay.