Research Guides: Art History and Art: Databases

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Art History and Art - Find Articles

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides materials, methods, interviews, and profiles of emerging artists and artistic styles and movements.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index with peer-reviewed citations covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
BHA on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. The database search includes BHA (covering 1990-2007), the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering the years 2008 and part of 2009) and the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA (covering 1975-1989)
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This resource now incorporates Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
OhioLINK subscribes to "basic" collection. Kelvin Smith Library has upgraded to the "standard" collection. See the title list.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Index of articles, news stories, letters, and other items in the tables of contents of journals from a variety of subject areas.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States (or British colonies) from 1639 to 1800, based on Evans' American Bibliography.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States from 1800-1819.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Works in English from 1474-1700. EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere. Titles range from the first book printed in English by William Caxton through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare to the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Primarily in English - also includes other languages.
IBZ Online This link opens in a new window
The bibliography IBZ is an international and interdisciplinary reference work documenting academic periodical literature in the humanities, social sciences and related fields. Publications from 40 countries in more than 40 languages are reviewed for indexing.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. Includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and other resources.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
This extensive collection of primary historic documents, books, images, scholarly essays, teaching tools, and book and Web site reviews documents the history of women's activism in public life, and is one of the most heavily visited resources for women's studies and for U.S. history on the Web. Organized around document projects written by leading scholars, the collection is a powerful research and classroom tool designed to help users develop the skills needed to analyze primary documents and conduct research. Document projects are organized around interpretive questions, each with 20-50 primary documents that address the question.

Art History and Art - Find Images

Dissertation & Theses

Theses & dissertations can provide valuable information on topics, authors, and institutions supporting work that you are also interested in reading–and following. Several databases we license for you are specific to this type of content.

Search by author, topic, institution, and more!

Dissertations & Theses @ Case Western Reserve University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses produced by students at CWRU. This resource is a subset of dissertations and theses from the complete set of ProQuest's Dissertations and Theses database (see immediately below) The majority of these publications are available for free download.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1743–present, and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertation Center This link opens in a new window
Free database of Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities. This database contains the abstracts for all included electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).