Data - Schubert Center for Child Studies - Research Resource Hub - Research Guides at Case Western Reserve University

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Data Sets & Resources

IMF World Development Indicators Data

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.

ChildStats.gov
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum was founded in 1994 and formally established in April 1997 under Executive Order No. 13045. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families." ~ from the ChidStats website
ChildTrends
Child Trends is the nation’s leading research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives of children and youth, especially those who are most vulnerable.
We work to ensure that all kids thrive by conducting independent research and partnering with practitioners and policymakers to apply that knowledge.
We believe that programs and policies that serve children are most effective when they are informed by data and evidence and grounded in deep knowledge of child and youth development." ~ from the ChildTrends website
State of Ohio - Interactive Children Services Data Dashboard
"The Office of Families and Children is responsible for state level administration and oversight of programs that prevent child abuse and neglect; provide services to abused/neglected children and their families (birth, foster and adoptive); license foster homes and residential facilities; and investigate allegations of child abuse neglect and exploitation." ~ from the ODJFS website
U.S. Census Bureau
"The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy." ~ Bureau website
UN Data
"The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) ... brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point ..." ~ from the UN Data website

Sage Research Methods & Datasets

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
Collection provides more than 1100 case studies written by researchers. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Stimulate class discussions by assigning videos for pre-class viewing, or use a clip in class to provide an alternative viewpoint. Videos can also be embedded into course management systems for exam preparation.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. This bank of topical, engaging practice datasets, indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves.