African American Studies Research Guide

An index of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450–present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes indexing of historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Chronicles life within the Antebellum South, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, and beyond.

Core encyclopedias and reference sources for authoritative information on African American history, biography, art, literature and culture, published by Oxford University Press.

Includes primary source recorded content from prominent African American speakers, artists, and activists from James Baldwin to Angela Davis, Freedom Riders interviews to interviews on the murder of Emmett Till. This collection also includes long-running programming series including In Black America and Say Brother.

The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.

American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.

The Call & Post was started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan and merged with the Cleveland Post in 1929 to become the Call & Post Newspaper. With the influence of editor & publisher W.O. Walker in 1932, the Call & Post established itself as the most influential voice for African Americans in all metropolitan regions throughout Ohio.

A leading voice of the African American community, the newspaper provides over six decades of historic coverage.

Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still.

Digital Case is Case Western Reserve's online source for curated digital content about the University: photographs and audio recordings from University Archives (which cover historical events at CWRU), digital copies of rare books and manuscripts in Special Collections. With Digital Case, the Kelvin Smith Library assumes an active role in the scholarly communication process, providing expertise in the form of a set of services for access, distribution, and long-term preservation of Case's collective intellectual product.

Full text and scanned pages of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States (or British colonies) from 1639 to 1800, based on Evans' American Bibliography.

Full text and scanned pages of all known existing American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States from 1800-1819.

Materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from the late-15th to early-21st centuries. Manuscripts and printed and visual primary sources as well as secondary resources such as scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.

Fully indexed, digitized version of Harper's Weekly.

This collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTs, anarchists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines. When completed, the Collection will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 1,000,000 pages. Registered users may save links to images and save searches. The link to sign up for an account may be found at the top of the Independent Voices starting page.

This collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTs, anarchists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines. When completed, the Collection will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 1,000,000 pages. Registered users may save links to images and save searches. The link to sign up for an account may be found at the top of the Independent Voices starting page.

The collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. The extensive documentation includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records.

An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.

ProQuest History Vault gives researchers access to millions of pages of cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents including articles, correspondence, government records, and more, documenting the most widely studied topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history.

Compiles and identifies hundreds of legal materials on slavery. Includes: treatises; law review and other articles; case law; state & federal statutes; pamphlets; and bibliographies. Includes Slavery Quick Finder to direct users to library providers if it does not contain the full-text of a source.

This collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.