Patents

This second edition provides a systematic introduction to the work and views of the emerging patent-search research and innovation communities as well as an overview of what has been achieved and, perhaps even more importantly, of what remains to be achieved. It revises many of the contributions of the first edition and adds a significant number of new ones. The first part "Introduction to Patent Searching" includes two overview chapters on the peculiarities of patent searching and on contemporary search technology respectively, and thus sets the scene for the subsequent parts. The second part on "Evaluating Patent Retrieval" then begins with two chapters dedicated to patent evaluation campaigns, followed by two chapters discussing complementary issues from the perspective of patent searchers and from the perspective of related domains, notably legal search. "High Recall Search" includes four completely new chapters dealing with the issue of finding only the relevant documents in a reasonable time span. The last (and with six papers the largest) part on "Special Topics in Patent Information Retrieval" covers a large spectrum of research in the patent field, from classification and image processing to translation. Lastly, the book is completed by an outlook on open issues and future research. Several of the chapters have been jointly written by intellectual property and information retrieval experts. However, members of both communities with a background different to that of the primary author have reviewed the chapters, making the book accessible to both the patent search community and to the information retrieval research community. It also not only offers the latest findings for academic researchers, but is also a valuable resource for IP professionals wanting to learn about current IR approaches in the patent domain.

Agencies that procure medicines are increasingly faced with questions about the patent status of pharmaceutical products. This is important because these agencies have a responsibility to use their budgets efficiently (for example by procuring generic medicines), but do not want to infringe on intellectual property rights. Many organizations involved in medicines procurement have limited knowledge of and little experience in establishing whether a particular medicine is under patent in a particular country. This guide describes a step-by-step approach to locating information about patents on medicines, which, though not easily found, is often available on the Internet. Concrete examples are given of how to trace, through the various online databases, whether a patent has been applied for, granted, refused or revoked. Suggestions are also provided for using Internet sources to obtain data (such as priority dates) that can facilitate efforts to identify relevant patents through more traditional means, such as patent office gazettes.

Before you do invest in a patent, it pays to invest a little time, learn about the process, and how the patent system works. Reading this book will help you understand: 1) how to work the patent system to your advantage, and 2) how to work effectively with the patent attorney who will represent you. This book will not teach you all of the detailed rules about patents. Instead, it will give you a framework and an understanding of the resources you will need, so that you can begin to think like a patent lawyer or better yet, think like an entrepreneur who is "patent savvy."

This comprehensive book is the first of its kind to take scientists and engineers beyond simply getting a patent granted. Through the author's extensive technical background and experience in intellectual property licensing, it ties the many technical, legal and business aspects of patent enforcement to the innovation and patenting stage in the patent value chain, with the objective of helping inventors to create valuable patents that can be capitalized.In easy-to-understand language, this book covers various aspects, including basic concepts of patent laws and rules, innovation protection, patenting, patents post-granting and patent licensing. With over 40 tables, 70 figures, nearly 100 cases and examples, and a comprehensive index table, it serves as a practical handbook for inventors and patent practitioners.This second edition incorporates the latest changes in the America Invents Act (AIA), with additional case studies and illustrations throughout the book. For inventors who want to file patents by themselves, this new edition provides guidelines and step-by-step instructions on preparing and filing a US provisional patent application, while avoiding the pitfalls that commonly occur in do-it-yourself patenting.

Patents are explained in this clear guide to every step of the patenting process. Do you have a great idea for a product? Do you toil away in an office, garage or basement lab day by day in the hopes of bringing a new widget to life? What will you do when it's alive and kicking? Here's the primer every first-time inventor needs. Packed with detailed information and concise explanations, Nolo's Patents for Beginners defines what a patent is and what it can do for you. Step by step, it explains how to: - use basic patent principles - document an invention - conduct a patent search - acquire patent rights - "read" an application - determine patent ownership - analyze disputes - find patent information - interpret international patent law Nolo's Patents for Beginners provides sample forms and letters, resources and a glossary of terms. This edition is completely revised to cover all changes in patent case law and updated regulations for inventors applying for a patent.

Patent your creation with the world's bestselling guide to patents! Have a world-class idea? Ready to protect your invention from copycats? Then turn to the best resource available -- Patent It Yourself.   Attorney David Pressman takes you through the entire patent process, providing scrupulously updated information and clear instructions to help you: . determine if you can patent your invention . understand patent law . evaluate the commercial potential of your idea . perform your own patent search . file a provisional patent application . prepare a formal patent application . respond to patent examiners . amend an application . enforce and maintain your patent . market and license your invention   Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law, this edition  provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new "first to file" rule, which promises to revolutionize patent law.    Whether you're new at the inventing game or a grizzled veteran, Patent It Yourself will save you grief, time and money.

Based on expert interviews and a large-scale survey, Dominic de Vries provides one of the first in-depth empirical studies into how patents contribute to companies' access to external financial sources. He identifies and analyses the actual extent and influence factors of financial patent utilization across company size clusters and patent-intensive industry sectors in Germany.

The economic system is generally understood to operate on the premise of exchange. The most important factor in economic development has always been technology, as a way to expand a limited resource base. Such increase in technology and knowledge is generally accepted by economists, but the mechanisms of exchange through which this happens are much less studied.  Generally, a static analysis of product exchange, incorporating new technology, has been undertaken. This book explores the transition of trade in ideas from an exchange largely within firms and nations to an exchange between firms and nations. This process has been going on since the beginning of the patent system, where importing (trading) technology was made policy in 1474, more than 500 years ago. However, during the past 25-30 years, a growth in exchange of technology between specialized firms, cooperating based on patent licensing, has been phenomenal, with annual licensing transactions exceeding a trillion dollars, not counting value of cross-licensing. Such specialized exchange has been seen in history but not at this scale and level of coordination.Using principles of experimental economics, the author investigates the licensing contract and mechanisms of exchange (rules of trade) as this exchange moves towards organized markets with prices. A key issue concerns the effect of introducing demand side bidding, through which the patent system introduces specialization and multiple use of the same technology in different new products, thus expanding the use of technology a firm has to more actors, products, and consumers. The risk and uncertainty in market access for cheaper, better and unique products and services are reduced through new and competitive technology.Questions raised are related to the optimal integration of information and rules in dynamic exchange of patents through institutions.  The view presented shows how inventors and traders can sell their intellectual property to buyers in a producer market, in this case in licensing contracts on patents, to diversify risk and monetize value based on an experimental economic study where the performance and behavioral properties of these institutions is the object of investigation. More fundamentally the work illustrates the theoretical, design, and patent system policy issues in a transition from personal to impersonal trade in ideas. This book explores the transition of trade in ideas from an exchange largely within firms and nations to an exchange between firms and nations. This process has been going on since the beginning of the patent system, where importing (trading) technology was made policy in 1474, more than 500 years ago. However, during the past 25-30 years, a growth in exchange of technology between specialized firms, cooperating based on patent licensing, has been phenomenal, with annual licensing transactions exceeding a trillion dollars, not counting value of cross-licensing. Such specialized exchange has been seen in history but not at this scale and level of coordination.Using principles of experimental economics, the author investigates the licensing contract and mechanisms of exchange (rules of trade) as this exchange moves towards organized markets with prices. A key issue concerns the effect of introducing demand side bidding, through which the patent system introduces specialization and multiple use of the same technology in different new products, thus expanding the use of technology a firm has to more actors, products, and consumers. The risk and uncertainty in market access for cheaper, better and unique products and services are reduced